1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Cayin N6ii

Rating:
4.92857/5,
  1. Wiljen
    Cayin N6ii, a lot of DAP now, and later...
    Written by Wiljen
    Published Dec 6, 2019 at 12:36 PM
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Very musical sounding (A01), Neutral (T01), quick UI, Good battery life
    Cons - Bulky, fingerprint magnet, some hiss with sensitive iems (both modules), No parametric EQ, battery not interchangeable.
    disclaimer: I was sent the Cayin N6ii and YB04 as part of the Cayin North American Review tour. Thank you to Cayin for providing the opportunity and trusting me with their gear. If you have an interest in Cayin products, more details can be found at Cayin's Website. Cayin products are sold in North America by Musicteck.



    Unboxing / Packaging:

    The N6ii comes in rather fancy packaging as is expected for a near flagship product. An outer silver slipcover has most of the pertinent information on the spine of the cover and an inner book-fold package has the player on left along with a name placard with the charging cable, case, and accessories hidden on the right under the manuals. The tour package also shipped with a 4.4mm male to 2.5mm female adapter for those using balanced output. My unboxing experience may be slightly different than the retail experience as I was not the first member on the tour and cannot guarantee that all was in the same spot it was originally.

    cayin-n6ii-box-side - Copy.jpg cayin-n6ii-box-front - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-box-inner - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-w-modules - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-kit - Copy (2).jpg IMG_7599 - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-box-right.jpg cayin-n6ii-module-rear.jpg
    cayin-n6ii-box-open.jpg cayin-n6ii-box-left.jpg cayin-n6ii-box-right.jpg


    Build:

    The first thing one notices when you lift the N6ii out of the packaging is the heft of the unit. It is not particularly large, with roughly the same dimensions as the Opus#1S and slightly smaller than the Khan, but weight is probably double that of the Opus unit. The shell is anodized aluminum with a glass front and rear. The Screen takes up nearly the entire front with a roughly 1.5 cm bezel at the lower edge. Controls are all on the right side of the unit with a volume wheel that also pushes in for wake/sleep/power functions and reverse, play/pause, and forward buttons. All other control is handled through touch screen apps. The left side of the player has the sd-card slot while the base has the I2s and USB type C ports. Modules are added and removed via a slot at the top of the player with two small screws holding modules in place once installed. The screw holes are visible in the 6th picture below and while the edge connector on the module is enough to hold the module in place without the screws, the extra security is nice. The fitted leather case that ships with the unit is easy to put on and take off but not loose enough to shift in use and provides good access and protection to the player. all ports and slots are exposed except for the screws to change modules and even that can be done by pushing the player about 1/2 an centimeter up in the case to expose the screws.

    cayin-n6ii-Left.jpg cayin-n6ii-on2.jpg cayin-n6ii-back - Copy.jpg cayin-n6ii-bottom - Copy.jpg cayin-n6ii-top-1 - Copy.jpg cayin-n6ii-top2-1 - Copy.jpg


    Internals:

    One of the biggest calling cards of the N6ii is the replaceable Modules (Audio Motherboards in Cayin speak) that allow you to upgrade your DAP rather than having to replace it when a newer chip comes out. The N6ii separates the functions into operating components which are in the core unit, and audio components, which are on a removable daughter card. For now, we will look at what is in the base unit with the modules getting their own discussion a bit farther down the page. The core of the N6ii is a Snapdragon Quad Core processor (listed by CPU Z as an ARM Cortex-A53 at 1.4gHz) with 4gb of RAM and 64gb (51 usable) of storage capacity. Initially the N6ii shipped with Android 8.1 (oreo) but an upgrade to a later version is promised once fully tested and the N6ii does support OTA upgrades so updating to the latest version is a fairly straight forward operation. Google play is supported and is unlocked to allow load of just about anything the end user would like and with the internals following qualcomm's reference design, most applications will work on the N6ii unless they require the phone radios to operate correctly. The Screen is a 4.68 inch (768x1280) touch enabled model and sports a good clear picture at 319 dpi. Wifi supports both 2.4 and 5gHz bands and worked well on both bands in my testing. Bluetooth is listed as 4.2 with an advanced Hi-Res Codec and supports AptX and LDAC for connections up to 96kHz. Rounding out the base module, the N6ii has a micro-SD card slot and USB-C port for input and supports use of OTG for external hard drive or flash drive content. I tested the micro-sd card slot with 400 and 512gb cards and had no issue with either. As a kudo to the N6ii even with a near full 512gb card, library load and refresh times were very good. Much faster than some competitive models. As outputs, the USB port can also be used for USB output to an external DAC or as an S/PDIF output and the N6ii also has an I2S output in the form of a mini HDMI port for Audio out. The N6ii also uses custom software called Direct Transport Audio to bypass the android components that normally re-sample audio during playback. And now, onto the modules.



    Modules:

    There have been some DAPs and DAC/Amps recently with modular amplifiers, but the N6ii takes it a step further and modularizes the entire audio chain. From digital input via the card connector at the base of the module, to output jacks at the top, all the decode and amplify functions are housed on these audio daughter cards. The only other DAP I am aware of that has this feature is the little known Xuelin H8 which takes it a step further yet with 4 distinct slots for Dac, amp, link, and LPF cards. At present two modules for the N6ii are available with others promised to arrive at later dates. To change modules, turn off the player, remove the two screws at the upper rear, and then lift the current module out of the slot. When seating a new module, gentle pressure will be needed, but force should not be used. Seat the module fully, replace the screws, then power on the unit. Changing modules with the power on is not recommended. Your current options are either the A01 (AKM based) or the T01 (Ti Based). These two are quite similar in some respects, and glaringly different in others. Both sport four OPA1622 Op-amps as the amplifier portion of the circuit so offer similar output power, but the A01 with its AK4497EQ chip uses digital volume control while the T01 and its dual Ti1792A dac chips rely on a pair of Burr Brown PGA2311A analog volume controls. The A01 supports PCM up to (and including) 32/384 while the T01 tops out at 24/192. Both support DSD256. The other major difference is in efficiency. The 1792A has been around a lot of years and is not nearly as efficient as the newer 4497 chip. The Burr brown controller chips also add to the battery consumption of the T01 so the end result is a module that has roughly the same output power as the A01 at a cost of roughly 1/2 the battery life. I found the real life battery expectancy to hover around 13 hours on the A01 and closer to 7 on the T01. If you love the sound dual mono 1792A's provide, it may be that the T01 is the call for you. For those looking for longer battery life or higher bit rates, the A01 is the better choice.

    As of today (12/6) Cayin has released a 3rd module for the N6ii dubbed the E01. This new model is based on the ESS9038Pro DAC chip using 4 channels each for left and right outputs. Amplification is provided by a new circuit that uses discrete components rather than off the shelf op-amps like the A01 and T01 modules. The E01 also offers the user the ability to switch between true class A amplification (for absolute sound quality) and class AB amplification for improved battery life. I look forward to an opportunity to try out the new E01 module at some future date.

    cayin-n6ii-modules-top - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-w-modules - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-modules1 - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6-module-kit - Copy.jpg

    Controls/UI:

    This is a tough section to write as the N6ii gives the user a lot of freedom to use the app of their choice. The tour unit shipped with Cayin's application as well as the Hiby Music App. I added Neutron and USB Audio Player pro and had no issued with the controls working properly on all the software versions tried. Android is nearly completely unlocked (sans developer options) so options to tweak the UI to your liking abound.

    cayin-n6ii-on2.jpg cayin-n6ii-settings - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-menu - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-f2 - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-feature - Copy (2).jpg cayin-n6ii-Boz1 - Copy (2).jpg Cayin-n6ii-Boz2.jpg

    Connectivity:

    The N6ii supports dual band wifi and I had no trouble connecting to office and home networks with one exception. One office network has an open network that then redirects to a terms and conditions page before allowing users out. The N6ii failed to display the splash page when connected and even manually opening a browser failed to bring up the splash. If you have to use this kind of wireless system in your environment, you may want to try an N6ii out before purchasing it to make sure it will work for you. Once connected, I had no trouble streaming spotify, Tidal, and Qobuz via their respective apps.

    Bluetooth support includes AptX and LDAC support and was extremely straight forward to use. Pairing went as expected via the settings menu and once connected I found the N6ii had a range of roughly 30 feet from device to endpoint before signal began to break up. I found that a single interior wall did not defeat the connection most of the time, but a 2nd interior wall almost always caused complete disconnection. Once back in range, re-connection was automatic and all that was necessary was a quick push of the play button to be back on track.



    Battery Life:

    I discussed the battery life some in the module discussion, but it warrants some additional conversation. The unit ships with a 5900 mAh cell that provides roughly 13 hours of battery life using the A01 module with the 3.5mm headphone out. I found Bluetooth decreased that time mildly as it lasted more like 12 hours than 13 when bluetooth was enabled. Wifi was similar in that it cost roughly an hour's life to have streaming enabled. The biggest power drain is the screen though, the more screen time you have, the less time the battery will last. If you completely disable the screen sleep function and set brightness at 75%, the N6ii lasts more like 6 hours on a full charge (A01 module). As you can see from the notes, battery life will be very dependent on usage patterns and reports of battery life even among reviewers have varied considerably as a result.



    Sound Quality:

    I found both the modules of the N6ii to sound extremely good, but was particularly impressed with the A01 module. Typically, I have found the Velvet Series AK chips to be slightly smoothed over and while very forgiving, they don't wring out the detail of some other competitors. This is not so much the case with the N6ii as the A01 produced very good detail with only the slightest hint of that smoothing I mentioned. Bass is well extended with good rumble when called upon and plenty of power when needed, mids have just a slight hint of additional warmth and a very mild push of the upper mids/lower treble forward to enhance vocals. The A01 retains some of its forgiving nature of the AK chips making it a good pairing with earphones that lean slightly to the bright side where they might become harsh with a more bright sounding DAP. Highs are well detailed and extension seems to be limited only by the earphone choice. I did find one small difference in the balanced and single ended outputs (and I volume matched them to be sure) and that was the balanced output has slightly less lower treble push than the single ended counterpart. Not sure why this would be true based on the circuit diagrams, but time and again, I found the single ended to have slightly more vocal presence with female vocals than its balanced counterpart. I found the A01 to be a good all-around card and it would be my choice for a daily user with the YB04 or Re2000S (balanced).

    Comparitively, the T01 card is more detailed, but slightly drier and thinner sounding when compared to the A01. I had initially worried about the potential for channel imbalance with the analog volume controls (especially at low volumes) but the T01 seems to be very well matched in this respect and any imbalance was small enough to be ignored. Bass is fast with good detail and slightly better timbre than the A01 card while mids are slightly thinner comparatively. Highs continue the trend with good detail and transparency, but slightly less body than the A01 counterpart. Those who like a more clinical sounding DAC will prefer the T01 card as I think it is a more accurate presentation, if not quite as musical as the A01.

    I did note some slight noise when using sensitive iems with the N6ii. The iFi-match solved this and brought the noise floor back to jet black.





    Comparisons:

    Ibasso DX200 -

    The iBasso DX200 and 220 are probably the most direct competitors to the N6ii with their removable modules and android operating system. The 200 originally shipped with android 6 but has since been updated to Oreo. I found the N6ii to be quicker than the DX200 which is likely the larger amount of ram in the N6ii. Feature sets are similar as both support wifi and Bluetooth, USB Dac, OTG connections etc. Both players sport open android environments so the choice of player is largely up to the end user. The default players (mango for iBasso) and Cayin's branded player on N6ii are roughly comperable although I will admit I find the DX200 slightly easier to navigate. The DX200 has a fixed ESS9028pro dac system and modules that allow the end user to change amps. If memory serves there are now 9 available for the DX series which gives you more options than presently available for the N6ii, but with the fixed DAC, it is overall a bit less future proofed. To my ear, the DX200 with the default amp module is a bit lower noise for sensitive IEMs and a bit closer to neutral than the A01. The T01 module is very close to what the stock DX200 provides as far as sound signature. Both are very solid efforts and both provide some modularity, but the N6ii takes it a step further than the DX200 (and even DX220 for that matter) and for those worried about future upgrade, the N6ii has more headroom.

    Sony WM1a -

    These two have almost nothing in common but the price. The WM1A is not modular but does offer an upgrade path as it uses a programmable processor instead of a dedicated DAC chip. The N6ii with the A01 is warmer and smoother while the WM1A is a bit brighter, better detailed, and more transparent. With the T01 module, the N6ii is much closer in signature to the WM1A, but still a bit less bright and maybe slightly less detailed in the treble (those two are awfully tough to separate). UI is easier on the WM1A but also extremely limited by comparison to the N6ii as if you don't like the stock options on the Sony, you are out of luck as it is a locked environment. Feature sets are nearly comparable although the Wifi is a generation newer chipset on the N6ii. Again hard to argue that any of these DAPs are bad, but the N6ii is certainly more versatile than the Sony, and for those most interested in musicality, the A01 module delivers while the Sony sounds a bit sterile by comparison.

    DethonRay DTR1 -

    At first glance these two have almost nothing in common. The DTR1 is half the price of the N6ii, doesn't offer wifi, bluetooth, or android, and is 1/2 the size and weight of the N6ii. What both do have is more dynamic range than expected and similar tonality when the T01 module is used. Put simply, the N6ii outclasses the DTR1 with its larger higher resolution screen, faster, more feature rich UI, and connectivity options, but doesn't manage to distance itself from the DTR1 in sound quality. I found the low gain setting on the DTR1 is a bit blacker than on the N6ii when using sensitive IEMs, and the high gain is quite comparable on both (when comparing the single ended outputs). The balanced output on the N6ii is more potent than the DTR1 and for those looking at running full sized, hard to drive over-ears, the N6ii will offer a bit more power with roughly the same battery life as the DTR1 when using the T01 module or a lot more battery life if the A01 module is employed. The E01 promises even more available power, but that remains to be seen at this date. Dissimilar devices with similar sound signatures is the best description here.



    Thoughts / Conclusions:

    I have mixed emotions about the N6ii. The interchangeable modules appeal to my sense of frugality, but then I question, how long a 1.4ghz ARM processor is going to be able to continue to provide adequate performance as improved android versions release? Version 10 (current release) already lists 4gb ram as the absolute minimum, and middle of the road cellphones currently sport A73 processors at 2.2 and 2.4ghz comparatively. It is quite likely that the base unit will become the limiting factor in the equation rather than the modules. If like Ibasso, the next generation of Cayin player utilizes the same modules, that will help alleviate some of that concern as it will allow the preservation of some of the initial investment. Without the benefit of a crystal ball, I will choose instead to base my conclusions on the DAP as it stands today.

    As a stand-alone unit, the N6ii is impressive, Build quality is solid and the case is well designed to protect the unit. UI is quick, simple to use, and easy to upgrade. Feature set is rich allowing multiple use cases from digital transport for a home system, to usb dac for a pc, to pocket DAP for music on the go. Sound quality on both the tested modules is very good, but different enough to provide users a chance to customize sound. The A01 provides great musicality with extended battery life while the T01 provides a near neutral signature with good detail and transparency. There is a lot to like about the N6ii even if purchased with a single module with no intention of ever adding another. It competes well with other units at the price point and even a few a bit above it. If I were purchasing the N6ii today, I'd opt for the T01 module, but honestly would encourage users to wait for the E01 to become available and audition it as well as it promises even more flexibility and perhaps the best sound yet.

    images

    1. cayin-n6ii-on2-1.jpg
    2. cayin-n6ii-module-front - Copy.jpg
    3. cayin-n6ii-on - Copy (2).jpg
    4. cayin-n6ii-on-1 - Copy (2).jpg
    5. cayin-N6-T01-Rear - Copy.jpg
    6. cayin-n6-module.jpg
  2. Miru
    Musical, Detailed, Modular
    Written by Miru
    Published Dec 5, 2019 at 1:02 AM
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Very musical sounding (A01)
    Neutral (T01)
    Android 8.1 + Play Store
    Amazing step up in detail
    Ports
    Motherboard options
    Cons - Sensitive IEMs/headphones can hear noise
    Heavy for portable use
    Cayin N6II Review
    20191204_105012.jpg
    Accessories:

    It comes with a leather cases, a pretty sturdy braided cable USB 3 cable, Cayin’s 2.5mm to 4.4mm adapter, and a glass screen protector. It comes with a preinstalled screen protector already on too. Packaging wise it seems to very much fit the general style of Cayin like the YB04 box. It comes with a A01 motherboard but there is also an option to buy the T01 motherboard.

    Ports:

    It comes with a line out, a 3.5mm jack, a 4.4mm balanced headphone jack which is also a line out. SPDIF out through USB-C which is also the charging port, a IIS out via mini HDMI and a micro SD card port allowing use of SDHC and SHXC up to 512GB.

    Build Quality:

    The moment I first had it, I noticed that it was very sturdy, and hefty. As well as all these features you have really make me wish I could just replace my smartphone with this. The volume knob is very clicky when turning it and acts as well as a clicky power on and off button. It also has a rewind/previous song, pause/play and forward/next song button that are both equally as nice of feel.
    20191204_104640.jpg
    20191204_104611.jpg
    General use:

    My experience with the N6II Mk2 at home was amazing as it offered such amazing sound quality, often emphasizing and everything my SDAC-B and Atoms can already do and surpassing it. It is somewhat portable, but for me as someone who finds that smartphones are getting too big and I can’t even fit most in my pockets. The N6II Mk2 wasn’t the most portable friendly player I’ve seen. It is a bit too heavy, and it can get a bit warm which might cause issues in the summertime although I'm completely happy to have it in the winter now. The case does a good job of making the heat mostly nonexistent to touch though. Generally, I felt like I needed to bring a bag and leave the N6II there if I wanted to have my hands free to do anything else. Maybe if there was some sort of arm strap for DAPs, I might like it more for outside use while still having my hands free.

    Interface Experience:

    For the most part I found it to be adequate and snappy enough for a SD 425. It doesn’t have that same snappy experience as something like my LG v20 or even an S8 I also have at home. But for a DAP I don’t think you really need the fastest experience. The music player doesn’t lag at all and it greatly benefits using something energy efficient for more play time.

    Sound quality:

    A01:
    20191204_104134.jpg
    The A01 easily was my favorite of the two motherboards you can get with the N6II. It has a very warm, full body sound. I originally thought my s-dac balanced and atoms were warm, but this takes it to another level. The YB04 greatly benefited from this as I thought it was a bit on the brighter side a bit. The sound not only sounds very warm and relaxing, I feel as if they really take the YB04 to another level in all categories such as micro detail all around, clarity and just how immersive the YB04 can be. I did also notice that the A01 really seemed to soften the mids a bit in a good way. The YB04 greatly benefited from this as I found it a bit too forward in the upper midrange. I wasn’t much of a person that believed dacs/amps have drastic changes in sound, but this experience really opened my eyes. I had no trouble driving any of my headphones here with the HD 800, HD 580 and DT 990 250 ohms being my hardest to drive. I only had to use low gain at 40/100 volume at most.

    T01:
    20191204_104303.jpg
    My experience with the T01 was great as well as it offered a somewhat similar level of detail, clarity and immersiveness. Although I found the A01 to be a bit more immersive with the soundstage and imaging just a bit better on it. The mids with the YB04 just felt a bit too forward for my preference and wasn't my favorite pairing. The bass sort of takes on a more neutral feel with the YB04 similar to how my atoms and sdac felt. The T01 I felt better to be paired with the HD 580/650 I have. From ears, they both felt similar levels of power they can both push out.

    Both motherboards really make the YB04 a much more capable IEM, with these pairings I sort of find it to be surpassing the RE2000 in technicalities. Even the Bass texture on these seem to have gotten better to compare to the RE2000 but not quite there but it got closer. The only issue I have with this pairing is that the YB04 paired on these motherboards seem to have some noise. It’s not unlistenable like my LG v20 was but it is noticeable. My JDS atoms being pretty much completely clean and is a cheap alternative if you just want something noise free, but you are losing so much detail in comparison to the N6II Mk2 with either the A01 or T01. My HD 800 also exhibited some noise as well but no where near as the level as the YB04. All my other headphones like the HD 580, 650 and 595 seemed to not have this issue.

    I also noticed some popping noise in between songs that namely have a different bit, or sample rate and to a much lesser extent the bitrate. This happened on the A01 and T01. For example, switching from a song that is 16bit 44khz with a bit rate of 600 kbps to a 24bit 192khz 6000kbps would yield the loudest pop. It was evident at first in the T01 and the A01 although I am noticing it isn’t as loud right now while I am writing. I am possibly guessing a buildup of heat can make it louder, but I am not completely sure. It didn’t make a difference if it was locally on the device or through a micro SD card. Also only really used the Cayin Music app.

    In comparison to my LG v20 it doesn’t really seem to have this issue, but it may be because it just downscales all my music to a similar bit/sample rate.

    Bluetooth:

    To me I am not a huge fan of Bluetooth. I still very much prefer wired options as my experience with tws earbuds has been hissy/noisy messes. Using the Bluetooth on the N6II Mk2 I noticed that is it SO much cleaner than my LG v20 included BT. It makes my cheap TWS earbuds listenable to which I was surprised they can sound anywhere near good. They pair also easily in comparison to the LG v20 taking much longer than it needs to.

    Cayin Music App:

    I never really used any other apps besides Foobar2000 or the included app on my LG v20, but the Cayin Music App was decent. I didn’t really have any issues with the interface at all and it was pretty feature packed and all I needed was included. The equalizer on it was alright from my experience, it wasn’t as clean of an EQ as it is on the PC but on the go it works fine. As well as the included Replay Gain due to my tracks being variably different in their gains worked well. I can't really have any complaints about it as it never caused any issues.

    Screen:
    The viewing angles are great on it and I don’t see any issues with it. The screen being a little small if you ever want to browse the web but, it’s fine for a music player majority of the time case. Colors also seem to be represented accurately as well.

    Power on time:

    For this test I used the YB04 at 18/100 on low gain and the HD 800 at 40/100 on low gain as well as the Cayin Music App. The screen was set to 50/100 as well with wifi and BT turned off.

    On a continuous basis of nonstop FLACs playing at 16bit 44khz to 24bit 192khz I found myself having about 8.5 hours of use on the YB04 and 7 hours of use on the HD 800.
    Charging back to 50% took me about 1 hour and to 100% about 3 hours in total.

    Random thoughts:


    Using the Cayin N6II Mk2 I did find it the volume knob to be a little too sensitive. I usually find myself accidentally turning up or down the volume knob. I think maybe it might be better to have a button for volume. While the N6II Mk2 is quite feature packed I think it would be amazing if the battery on it could be user replaceable. For the most part it lasts pretty much a whole workday for me but eventually batteries do lose their charge. Although I do like the clicky power on and off button a double tap to wake on screen I feel would be a great addition to the N6II Mk2. The device itself is also very prone to get fingerprints, mostly on the screen and back part.

    Also found these really cool Hi-Res Audio stickers with the manual.
    20191204_153828.jpg

    Would I buy it?

    It is on the pricier side of what I can afford right now. But from my experience it was amazing to see what it could do and how much it can make the YB04 stand out. Basically takes everything it does well and brings it to another level. The only other issues I might have with this is pairing it with a sensitive IEM, and the possibility of having the battery loss of its charge in the long term. If I had the money, I think it would be a compelling offer on its features, and musical sound to get it, although my experience in the DAP market is limited.
      Cat Music likes this.
    1. Cat Music
      Is it the best DAP you've had in sound quality? or do you have another one?
      Cat Music, Dec 5, 2019 at 11:06 AM
  3. skedra
    A modular dream
    Written by skedra
    Published Nov 13, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Nice screen, excellent build quality, good software implementation, a full android with google play, clever modular design, warm and musical sound (A01) or clear and airy (T01)
    Cons - Price, modular card price, bugs with SD card, bulky and heavy, some hiss on very sensitive IEMs, EMI when using it near a phone
    _DSF4636.jpg
    Preface:

    For the last half a year I was looking for a good DAP, mostly to use a desk set up at work but also for everyday use. At first, I purchased a Fiio M11, even though it was good I still lacked the google play support especially being a USB audio player pro user. When the N6ii I decided to jump on that wagon and never even with a few hiccups I've not regretted it. I also happened to have been sent a second unit by AndyKong which allowed me to compare both A01 and T01 cards in quick A/B testing.

    Packaging & Accessories:
    _DSF4621.jpg _DSF4622.jpg

    Yet again a very nice and clean packaging from Cayin, when you open the box you know that you are indeed looking at a premium product.
    _DSF4623.jpg
    Accessories are pretty simple, a well-made leather case, thick USB cable for charging, 2.5mm to 4.4mm adapter and a glass screen protector (not pictured). I think accessories are quite good, the only thing I'm missing is a charger, I think at this price range it should've been included. It comes pre-installed with a gel screen protector, however, due to the fit in the case this protector has lasted 3 days with my normal use after which it started peeling off in multiple places. The included glass screen protector is also flat when the screen is slightly curved, this makes for a protector that doesn't adhere properly.

    Build & Design:
    From the start the device feels extremely well built, the weight, glass and metal remind me of flagship phones. The screen is fairly bright with good viewing angles, and 768x1280 resolution is more than enough to use the device and not feel like it's outdated. The whole unity, while being bulky still fits well in the hand and the case provides a nice grip and a little bit of protection from general wear and tear (even though I doubt it would save it from a drop onto a hard surface). The volume knob has some clickiness to it and doesn't move loosely.
    The provided 2.5mm to 4.4mm adapter is well built and quite practical due to being right-angled.
    The cable is thick, well sleeved and in general really good quality.

    General use:
    As I've had this player for a couple of months my experience has been very positive. Compared to most DAPs I have used it feels significantly faster, opening apps, changing music, scrubbing through tracks, everything is way more responsive than other players. In that regards, I have absolutely no issues with it.
    Few issues I've encountered. When the device is new, it comes with a lot of google play services and google play store permissions disabled, this causes a very high battery drain by the system, only way to fix that for me was to give those permissions. Sometimes when using the volume wheel the volume will not change, so you may have to rotate a few more clicks than you'd expect.
    After the permission change was applied the battery life was pretty similar to advertised, between 12-14h of listening depending on files and whether I used the screen a lot or not.

    Sound:
    _DSF4628.jpg _DSF4629.jpg
    A01:

    This was the card that came with my original device, which makes me a bit more familiar with it. Best way to describe the sound is musical and smooth. The extension is there, but the treble does have a more mellow and smooth feel to it while keeping all the detail. It pairs extremely well with my CA Andromeda, I'd go as far as saying it's my favourite source for those. Stage wise, it feels natural, without extending too far width-wise and due to a bit smoother treble, it's not as deep as some. In general, the sound gains a good deal of richness, giving vocals a bit more weight and making them stand out.

    T01:
    This card reminds me of older Cayin sound, it's brighter and leaner. But what it loses in the richness it gains in feeling more effortless and airier. The stage is narrower but gains a bit more depth with better instrument separation. This was better paired with warm IEMs as something like Cayin YB04 felt quite a bit too bright with this card. I felt this card did well on music which focuses on small sound queues or multiple acoustic instruments playing at once where the extra separation helped with picking up the mix.

    Conclusion:
    I wholeheartedly recommend the N6ii, even though the price is quite steep it delivers on all fronts, from snappy performance, solid build and decent accessories to flexibility in the sound based on multiple sound cards. This last part should only get better as new cards get released and everyone may be able to find something for themselves.
    Great job on this one Cayin.
  4. Niyologist
    "The Holographic Principle"
    Written by Niyologist
    Published Nov 3, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Transparent sound, Very Dynamic, Large and in charge Soundstage, Long Battery Life, Magnificent Build Quality, Custom Android OS (8.1), Google Play Store Pre-Installed, Interchangeable Audio Motherboards, Top-Tier functionality, Excellent Hardware, Large Battery Capacity.
    Cons - A bit heavy, bulky.
    Cayin N6II Review


    “The Holographic Principle”

    20191101_213047.jpg

    Introduction:

    As I grow older and nearing my 30s, I look back to acknowledge that I have listened to many songs and soundtracks. I have also noticed that while my taste in music has matured somewhat, I still listen to some of the earlier styles of musical preferences. Along with that, my brain had experienced some types of frequency fluctuations. I often remember that to recall the sounds I experience with the tools I use every day. This is my first DAP review on Head-Fi, so it may not be very impressive.



    DISCLAIMER:

    This review is strictly done because of the Cayin Audio Tour. Thank you Andy Kong for selecting me to experience the entire Portable Cayin Set.

    Let us begin.

    Accessories:

    The Cayin N6II comes with a very sturdy and well designed protective case. The case has a nice blend of black leather with red threads to keep the case intact. The case fits like a glove. It complements the curves of the N6II quite well. The N6II also comes with a thick Type-C USB Cable. This cable is perhaps the best-looking cable I have ever seen for a DAP. It has a velcro latch on the cable to it bundled neatly and the connectors are golden. Most likely for better conductivity. The last accessory the N6II comes with is a 2.5mm to 4.4mm aux adapter. The adapter is slim and has a low profile. Mainly because the adapter is a right angle adapter. It’s also very sturdy and I am not concerned about it for constant use. There are also extra screen protectors that come with the N6II.

    20191102_032510.jpg 20191101_214143.jpg 20191101_214302.jpg 20191102_033131.jpg



    Specifications:



    [​IMG]

    Cayin N6II Circuitry.jpg

    The Cayin N6II isn’t holding back its punches, in terms of hardware. For today’s DAP standards, this is certainly above typical DAP specs for hardware, and the customized software sure can keep up. It's fast and convenient for those high-quality music lovers.


    Cayin N6II Hardware and Software Goodies and Capabilities:



    • The N6II has a User Replaceable Audio Motherboard

    • The A01 Audio Motherboard has an AK4497EQ 32 Bit DAC

    • Playback up to 32Bit/384kHz and DSD256 (A01)

    • 4.4mm Balanced Phone Output (A01)

    • 3.5mm/4.4mm Line Out

    • DTA (Bypass SRC) Meaning Always Hi-Res

    • 3 Digital Interface I2S, USB, S/PDIF

    • EMCP Internal Storage (64GB) and External Storage of 512GB (Tested) (Micro SD and OTG).

    • Dual-Band Wi-Fi (2.4GHz and 5GHz)

    • Hi-Res Bluetooth Audio (AAC, aptX, and LDAC)

    • HiByLink Remote Control

    • Snapdragon CPU with 4GB of RAM

    • Customized Oreo OS

    • Streaming and 3rd Party App Support

    • 768 X 1280 IPS Touch Screen

    • A 5,900 mah Li-Ion Battery w/14 Hrs of Playback w/QC 3.0 (Quick Charge 3.0)
    I should note that the A01 Audio Motherboard is sold with the N6II and is already installed within the N6II. The Cayin T01 Audio Motherboard is sold separately.


    Build Quality/Design:


    The N6II feels heavy when holding it, but it feels incredibly sturdy. It’s insanely durable mainly due to the material it’s made out of. The housing of the DAP itself feels like it’s made out of aluminum. The N6II feels incredibly smooth and a bit slippery. This is probably why Cayin had provided a protective case. What surprises me most is the design for the power button of the N6II. The volume wheel on the upper right-hand side of the DAP is also a power button. I find that very convenient, but a bit annoying when taking it out of my pocket because the can easily increase or decrease by accident. The Volume Wheel also functions as Standby On/Off. (EDIT: I was told that the first N6II firmware solves this problem by making the volume wheel inactive when the screen is off).

    Below the Volume Wheel are the Rewind/Previous, Play/Pause, and Fast Forward/Next buttons. These button commands can be changed in the Audio Settings, with the exception of Play/Pause. The volume wheel makes a small clicking sound when it’s being rotated. It feels firm, but not too firm and strikes a good balance of volume control. As for the A01 Audio Motherboard, it blends in well in the back of the N6II. The 4.4mm Balanced Output, 3.5mm Output, and 3.5mm Line Out are all located on the top of the N6II. I had already uploaded an instructional video of swapping the Audio Motherboards. One other bit of information that I should mention. The back of the N6II has a beautiful glass back that has its logo at the center top and the DAP’s power output and company information on the bottom. One more thing, the Digital Output (I2S and S/PDIF) are located at the bottom of the N6II, with the Micro SD slot located on the bottom left side of the device.

    20191101_213554.jpg

    20191101_214037.jpg

    20191101_214011.jpg

    Cayin T01 Audio Motherboard Unboxing and Swap:



    Battery Performance:

    I’m gonna quickly mention that the N6II has a strong point here. I have done a test on the performance of the N6II for battery performance and heat production. I had connected my Beyerdynamic DT990 PRO (250 Ohm) to the N6II (3.5mm) on High Gain (VOL: 50/100). I had also looped Boston’s Album “Boston” (DSD 2.8 MHz) for 4 hours. The battery started at 93% and dropped to 57% at the end of the test. The heat was minimal. I would say it was around 80*F, but I don’t have a device thermometer. Although I have very good experience in temperature detection. That doesn’t count in this case. The DAP stayed slightly warm at room temperature. This is impressive because the 5,900 mah Li-Ion battery is being used properly. With this very large capacity battery, there’s no need to charge your DAP frequently. Best of all, the N6II is QC 3.0 compliant. It usually takes 1.25 hours to fully charge the N6II from 50% to 100% with the provided USB-C Cable.

    Cayin N6II Functionality:

    I have recorded a couple of videos about the functionality of the N6II. I might have left a few details out, but most of the details are there. I'll upload them soon.

    EDIT: Here's Part 1 of 2. I'm struggling to upload Part 2.



    Sound Performance:

    Sound Tracks used:

    “Down by the Riverside” by Noah Wall (FLAC 24 bit/96 kHz)

    "Danny Boy" by Three's Company (FLAC 24 bit/96 kHz)

    GAIN: LOW VOL: 55 (YB04)/ 75 (ULTRASONE SIGNATURE STUDIO)

    Cayin N6II (Paired with Cayin YB04 and Ultrasone Signature Studio) w/A01 (3.5mm):

    The pairing between the N6II and YB04/Ultrasone Signature Studio had created a unique and memorable experience. I would say that the N6II (A01) configuration provides a slightly warm, transparent, accurate, and refined sound. When I was listening to "Danny Boy" by Three's Company, it was like being in a black void. Nothing but perpetual darkness. It felt a bit warm too. Then suddenly, I hear a bass guitar to my left strumming up something emotional. Then after that, I hear an Alto Saxophone to my left. Then the cymbals in the back in the middle. I felt like I was in the middle of these three musicians. It felt like I part of the audience. It seemed so real. Then I realized that once the track was over, I wasn't actually there, but for a moment I was captivated.

    Cayin N6II (Paired with Cayin YB04) w/A01 (4.4mm):

    I used the Hi-Res Sampler songs from HDTracks to observe the capabilities of the Cayin N6II. It did not disappoint. I felt like I got lost in the music. There are even greater channel separation and better dynamics. The imaging and cues are almost pinpoint accurate. The noise floor almost virtually non-existent. I listened to “Down by the Riverside” by Noah Wall (FLAC 24 bit/96 kHz) and the stage was so transparent. The atmosphere seemed warm, given the A01's AK4497EQ DAC. I didn’t even have to close my eyes and it felt like I was floating. I felt like I was front stage and listening to her sing with the guitarist on the far left and far-right. Along with the backup singers directly behind her. This experience made me smile and I felt ecstatic.


    Conclusion:

    This N6II is my opinion is considered to be a highly valuable DAP. Despite it being a bit on the heavy side and a bit bulky. It's great with the spatial rendering of sound and it can fully utilize the hardware from within to present masterful sound characteristics. Not only that, the N6II has great software, excellent functionality, and top-tier hardware. Cayin's slogan "Never be the same" is spot on. After this experience, I see Digital Audio Players in a whole new light. If you are looking for a DAP that provides slightly warm, captivatingly transparent and detailed sound, along with excellent battery life and great software for $1,300, this is the DAP I would highly recommend.
      Cat Music and ngoshawk like this.
    1. FunctionalDoc
      Nice detailed review for your first time for sure. What is name of the music player software you are using ? Have USB Audio Pro(UAPP) and how does it compare to the one you mention ?

      Which board did you like best A01 or the T01 ?
      FunctionalDoc, Nov 11, 2019
    2. Niyologist
      I used the Cayin Music App. In comparison to the UAPP, it's much easier to use.
      Niyologist, Nov 11, 2019
  5. DrummerLeo
    Tube Amp in A Box—CayinN6ii Portable Player Review
    Written by DrummerLeo
    Published Sep 13, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Very musical tonality, Nice detail for a warm player, Fairly nice build quality.
    Cons - Might be too large or not as portable for some
    Intro

    Cayin is one of my favorite brands in making amps, dacs and portable players. My experience with Cayin starts from 2014—my first flagship portable player N6. Later, I owned Cayin I5, portable dac C5, and off course my personal favorite HA300 tube amp. In a way, I am one of a few Cayin fans who has witnessed the revolution of Cayin’s tuning ideology.

    Back to the date, Cayin N6 to me was a crystal clear but cold and sharp reference machine. I5 on the other hand was an extremely warm, meaty but a little muddy player. However, both of them have a great inviting mid-range, at that point, the mid-range was the only remnant that maintained my faith on Cayin. Until last year, I tried and immediately bought HA300. That was a heavenly moment, HA300 gives all my headphones the sound I exactly want (I can’t stop myself every time talking about HA300, but that will be another review coming soon). Also, on that day, I noticed the revolution is done. Today, Cayin’s sound is very refined, smooth and elegant. It is a now a stable and comfortable sound instead of wandering between ice and flame.

    This year I purchased N6ii without hesitation, as for the confidence to Cayin and as a salute to N6 that has served for 5 years.

    Finally, thanks to Musicteck for the great shopping experience as always.

    Packaging and Accessories

    Cayin N6ii comes with a giant box, the player, type-C cable, 2.5mm(f) to 4.4mm(m) adapter and instruction handbook were lying in there quietly and safely. There is nothing special about the packaging or accessories, nice and handy.
    mmexport1568242750104.jpg mmexport1568242756424.jpg

    Build Quality

    Cayin is always superb in this section. Each part is very solid built onto the player. There are no wobble parts or rattles at all. Juncture are tight and smooth. The only problem I have with the design or build is it is a little big/thick for me.

    mmexport1568242772358.jpg mmexport1568242781213.jpg

    Sound Tests Equipment

    Headphones: 64 Audio A18t (BA, reference tuning, slight U) &

    Tia Forte (BD, slight V shape, treble concentrated),

    JH Audio Layla (BA, flat with bass concentrated),

    Rhines Stage 7 (BA, warm mid concentrated),

    Ultrasone Tribute 7(portable cans, V shape, slightly power consuming in comparison)

    Cables: 1960s 4 wires 2.5mm (A18t)

    Plussound Tri-copper 4 wires 2.5mm (TF)

    Plussound Tri-copper 4 wires 3.5mm(T7)

    TWag V3 8 wires 2.5mm (Layla)

    TWag V3 4 wires 3.5mm (for A18t, TF and S7, for single-end PO test)

    Other Players: AK SP1000m, Hiby R6, Echobox Explorer

    Records: Brian Culbertson—Live from the Inside (Funk, Smooth Jazz, test for EQ balance, micro-dynamic, separation and more)

    Erra –Neon (Metalcore, test for speed, separation and control)

    Hans Zimmer – Mountains (OST, test for soundstage and macro-dynamic)

    Céline Dion— My Heart Will Go On (Pop? , test for female vocal)

    Kane Brown—Heaven (Country, test for male vocal)

    Don’t be critical on me for my vocal records selections, I’m a drummer so I really don’t care about vocal that much lol.

    Bass:

    The music I used to test bass is called “so good” from the album “Live from Inside” by Brian Culbertson. In the middle of this song, there is a bass(instrument) solo performed by Lamar Jones. That part is ideal to test bass clarity, response speed and overall bass quality.

    N6ii is able to present every note very clean and with power. I was literally shaking my body when Lamar is slapping. When he was the doing the walking bass part, N6ii was able to present overtone the very well. I found the bass from N6ii is very lively and reaches very deep, it is not the cleanest bass I have heard but it is clean enough. Compare with my other players, N6ii’s bass is significantly more bodied with more weight and color. Overall, I will give it a 9/10.

    Mid:

    Mid is my favorite part of N6ii just like all Cayin’s device it is sweet, inviting and refine. Meanwhile, I found Cayin actually improved their mid which is already outstanding.

    I used “Get It On” and “All About You” also from “Live from the Inside” to test instrumental parts of mid-range, and those 2 vocal songs for vocal portion.

    In the “Get It On” there is a brass winds trio (tenor sax, trombone and trumpet) in the middle section which covers from lower mid to upper mid. N6ii is really good in separating each other when they are playing altogether, I can clearly get each instrument and the layer it is serving. The saxophone really stands out when N6ii was playing this entire album. No matter tenor sax or bari sax, no matter fast or slow, N6ii is able to give them a warm cozy feel, I was completely drowned by those attractive winds sounds. “All About You” is all about the interaction between piano and tenor saxophone. Although the piano part is not as beautiful as brass winds, it is still very enjoyable. Due to the overall warm signature of N6ii, piano sounds a little artificial to me.

    As for vocals, especially these two singers, I think N6ii did a perfect job. Its powerful lower mid can hold Kane Brown’s sound nicely. The solid clarity performance in the mid-range allows me to get any detail from Kane Brown’s unique voice line. The warm signature of N6ii at here played a very important rule when I was listening to Céline Dion, the little extra thickness has made Céline Dion’s voice livelier.

    I would like to describe the mid from N6ii as warm, lively and attractive. Overall, I will give it a 9.5/10.

    Treble

    The treble from N6ii is on the darker side. The treble notes from trumpet, piano and cymbals are a little thicker than my preference. However, the treble from treble from N6ii is extremely smooth, even smoother than my sp1000m. After about 1-hour listening, I actually think the slightly darkness on treble is actually a good thing. It makes the overall sound from N6ii more coherent and musical. With more listening goes on, I feel myself really fell in love with N6ii’s treble, it reminds me a lot of Audeze LCD series headphones.

    Indeed, the treble from N6ii is dark, but in my opinion, it is in a good way. If I only pick out the treble from N6ii without considering other frequencies I will probably give it an 8/10, but on the whole “music” standpoint, I will give it a solid 9/10.

    Dynamic & Speed

    Dynamic basically describes how your device reflect the sound from none to loud, speed reflect the sound from slow to fast. Personally, I like to combine these two concepts together and review. Because often time these two concepts decide whether the device sounds “vivid” or not.

    Drum and strings are two great indicating instruments when measuring these two concepts.

    I usually focus on drum tracks when testing micro-dynamic. Drummers always play in different volume in a song or even in a bar of music. N6ii is able to pick up those tiny little changes pretty clearly when I was listening to drum solos. However, when I listen to “Mountains” the macro-dynamic of N6ii wasn’t very impressive. The volume changes of strings group were not that significant when compare to the sp1000m especially. It is a little bit rigid in some regard.

    Similarly, in speed section, due to the nice clarity in bass region, it can present a clear imagine even when double bass drums are really fast. But for some fast metal guitar riffs N6ii sounds a little vague to me, which in comparison sp1000m did a lot better.

    Therefore, in this section I would probably only give it a 7/10. N6ii still sounds very lively it has clearly more fluctuates than player like R6. I can notice there are changes in volume and speed, but just not significant enough to say it is beautiful (just imagine Dwayne Johnson dances like Michael Jackson).

    Soundstage

    The soundstage of N6ii is about average, again, not as outstanding as its EQ balance. It is significantly better than R6 and similar intro to mid-range players, but it is also not as large as sp1000m.

    In the similar price range, I recently tried Colorfly U8 and R6pro for a very short period of time. I would say N6ii falls in between of these two players, slightly smaller than U8 and larger than R6pro. N6ii is spacy enough for most genres, but probably not for OST and classic.

    I would give sound stage a 7.5/10.

    Additional Information about Pairing

    N6ii is very versatile in terms of pairing IEMs. It is very powerful, and I have to say it drives Tribute 7 better than sp1000m. I also find that it is quite BA friendly, all pure BA IEMs I tested are pretty good on N6ii, especially A18t, there are seems some magics. A18t sounds very musical on N6ii which is hard to believe (A18t was never a musical IEMs to me). The Tia Forte is not very good on N6ii. N6ii has such a power to drag the treble of TF down a little bit. However, TF was trying to push the treble back to where it was. In result, the treble of this pair usually located at a very weird region. I had the same issue with A18t and sp1000m.

    I cannot detect any background noise from these pairs, but I do feel the background is not as dark as sp1000m.

    (End of sound tests.)


    Operating System & Others

    The operating system is really clean and smooth. It is pretty close to Hiby’s player. Google Play Store is pre-installed. The download speed is actually faster than R6 when downloading Apps. It cost me 1 second or even less to download Tidal! The in-App download speed is faster than sp1000m too. I think that is because it has a better Wi-Fi signal receiver. I placed my router in my living room, I got full signal on Samsung S10, 85% on N6ii, approximately 75-70% on R6, a little less on sp1000m.

    For battery, I haven’t used a full cycle, but I played it overnight, it still has 38% when I woke up, so I would say at least 12 hours should be no problem. I haven’t taken it outdoor, so I don’t now how hot it can go to, for indoor use the heat is not a problem (I did read some review says it is a little bit hot when use outdoor in summer).

    I haven’t experienced any system failure. The screen is very smooth, nothing like dx200. I do have one lag when it was updating system and I was downloading music from Tidal and listening to local music. There was about 3 minutes lag, after the system was updated everything works just fine.

    Summary

    I think N6ii is a great release from Cayin. It keeps all the good traditions of Cayin, reliable build quality, mature and refined tuning. At 1k price range which is probably one of the most competitive battlegrounds in the portable player market, I believe N6ii has enough good features to stand out from others. I also believe Cayin will release some amps that can improve some current downside in sound. As for now, I’m kind of regretting paying double price purchased sp1000m. N6ii is good enough for me to enjoy the music while walking to wherever I want.
      project86 likes this.
  6. twister6
    Pick a card, a modular card!
    Written by twister6
    Published Jul 30, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - natural musical tonality, modular DAC/amp design, Snapdragon CPU w/4GB RAM, fast Android interface, 4.4mm BAL Headphone and Line Out, 5900mAh battery with extended playback time.
    Cons - price, additional cost of new DAC/amp cards.


    The product was provided to me free of charge for the review purpose in exchange for my honest opinion. The review was originally posted on my blog, and now I would like to share it with my readers on head-fi.

    Manufacturer website: Cayin. Available for sale on MusicTeck.


    Intro.

    Another DAP, another review? Well, maybe not just another DAP. Cayin decided to do something different to make their product stand out from the crowd. I have been using the word “crowd” a lot lately because DAP field is crowded (more like overcrowded) with lots of new releases. And on top of that, it's hard to miss a wide price gap between flagships where the price is no longer the indicator of DAP's superiority.

    So, how do you stand out from the crowd where even mid-fi audio players use premium AKM and ESS DAC chips? Of course, we all know that it's not about what you use but how you implement it, and that comes from years of design experience. But the audiophile enthusiasts constantly demand more, driving manufacturer to push the envelope further. Thus, Cayin decided to up their game and to introduce a DAP with a modular design where you can replace the whole audio motherboard which hosts a DAC and an amp.

    While typically a replaceable amp module (just like an external amp) affects the coloring of the sound, the idea behind N6ii audio motherboard is to let you replace a combo of DAC and amp in order to change the signature of the DAP. Hopefully when the next audio motherboard card becomes available, I will be able to test this sound change. But in a meantime, after spending a month with N6ii, let me take a closer look at this new Cayin DAP with its default A01 card.

    cayin_n6ii-x16.jpg

    Unboxing and Accessories.

    As expected, and seen in many Cayin releases, they put some extra effort into creating a premium packaging with a cool unboxing experience.

    cayin_n6ii-x23.jpg cayin_n6ii-x24.jpg cayin_n6ii-x25.jpg cayin_n6ii-x26.jpg

    Also, Cayin included quality usb-c data/charging cable, tempered glass screen protector, 2.5mm (female) to 4.4mm (male) right angled short adaptor (the same as in N8), a very detailed printed manual booklet, and a leather case. Btw, leather case has a nice secure tight fit, but not exactly the same high quality as Dignis or MITER cases which I hope to see one day for N6ii.

    cayin_n6ii-x27.jpg cayin_n6ii-x28.jpg cayin_n6ii-x29.jpg cayin_n6ii-x30.jpg

    The case.

    cayin_n6ii-x31.jpg cayin_n6ii-x32.jpg cayin_n6ii-x33.jpg cayin_n6ii-x34.jpg cayin_n6ii-x35.jpg

    Design.

    Once out of the box, the first impression was how solid N6ii felt in my hand. The main front focus is around 4.2" IPS (768x1280 resolution) screen, and overall dimensions are relatively compact at 121x70x21mm, though it is thicker than some other DAPs due to a bigger battery and assuming a sliding mechanism for internal audio motherboard. It's not too heavy, but you do feel a nice heft of its 290g. With a smooth sandblasted CNC aluminum chassis and glass back, I would strongly recommend keeping it in the included leather case to enhance the grip.

    The display placement is asymmetric with a thin left and top bezel and extended beveled right and bottom bezel. Under the visible portion of the display screen you have an outlined soft HOME button (tap for Back, hold for Home screen) which also has a breathing light LED circle when charging. Left side of chassis toward the bottom has spring-loaded micro SD card slot, tested and confirmed by Cayin to work with the latest 512GB cards, while internal storage is 64GB. At the bottom you have I2S digital port (mini HDMI Type-C to interconnect with compatible devices), USB port for charging, data transfer, and a digital transport interface, including S/PDIF coax cable connection when using Cayin custom USB-C cable (common with other Cayin DAPs).

    Right side of the DAP has hardware playback buttons with Play/Pause in the middle and Skip above and below it. Toward the upper right corner, you will find a Volume wheel with protective guards allowing access to the front and the back of the wheel. The volume wheel is easy to control with a thumb or an index finger, has a soft click feedback as you rotate it, a little mushy, and sometimes requiring two clicks to change a volume by a step (per review sample I received). It also has Push-button functionality as a Power button where you short press to turn the display on/off and long press to turn the power on or to bring up Android pop up for shutdown. The guards around the wheel protect it from accidental pressing when in the pocket. Overall, I find it very convenient and efficient to be able to control volume and display/power with a single button, using only a thumb.

    cayin_n6ii-x01.jpg cayin_n6ii-x02.jpg cayin_n6ii-x03.jpg cayin_n6ii-x04.jpg cayin_n6ii-x05.jpg cayin_n6ii-x06.jpg

    Under the hood.

    The top of the DAP hosts a replaceable Audio Motherboard card with 4.4mm BAL headphone port (530mW @32ohm, 1.2ohm OI, 121dB SNR) which can be selected as Line Out or Phone Out. Next to it is 3.5mm SE headphone port (245mW @32ohm, 0.6ohm OI, 119dB SNR), and a separate 3.5mm Line Out port. Each Line Out level can be adjusted. On the back at the top, there are 2 small screws which hold the Audio Motherboard in. The default stock A01 card comes with AK4497EQ 32bit DAC, quad OPA1622 op-amps, and other miscellaneous components. The rest of the common circuit is on the printed wiring board inside the main chassis, including low jitter clocks (covering 3 fundamental frequencies) and DSP FPGA dedicated to DSD/PCM signal processing with a support of many popular lossy and lossless formats up to PCM 32bit/384kHz and DSD256.

    Thanks to Snapdragon 425 CPU and 4GB of RAM, the Android Oreo (8.1) performance is very fast, pretty much identical to Hiby R6Pro, including implementation of DTA (direct transport audio optimization to bypass SRC sample rate conversion of stock Android) which ensures playback from all the apps without re-sampling. Along with optimized Android OS, you will also get pre-installed Google Play, HibyMusic app, and Cayin's own Music app based on modified HibyMusic. With Google Play you can download any app, and within minutes I was streaming Spotify and playing YT videos. Furthermore, you will find support of 2.4G/5G dual WiFi bands and Bluetooth 4.2 with LDAC, aptX, and AAC, enabling the use of N6ii as a wireless BT DAC. Not the latest BT, but as long as LDAC is supported, I’m OK with it. HibyLink Remote control is supported as well.

    cayin_n6ii-x17.jpg

    I already mentioned that N6ii accommodates a bigger battery, 5900 mAh, which is quite impressive for an average size DAP. For me personally, the battery performance of N6ii is one of its strongest Pros. With WiFi off, playing 320kbps mp3s from 3.5mm SE output in mid gain, I was able to get close to 14hrs of advertised playback time. Switching to 4.4mm BAL output in mid gain while playing hi-res lossless FLAC files, I was getting over 12.5hrs of playback time. The standby time with WiFi and screen off was impressive as well, but once WiFi is enabled it drains a little faster, as expected from Android device with all its background processes. Furthermore, there is a support for Quick Charge QC3.0 (with appropriate charger) where you can expect to reach the full capacity in about 2hrs.

    cayin_n6ii-x07.jpg cayin_n6ii-x08.jpg cayin_n6ii-x09.jpg cayin_n6ii-x10.jpg cayin_n6ii-x11.jpg

    Sound Analysis.

    I analyzed N6ii sound using various earphones/headphones, such as U18t, Solaris, T5p 2nd gen, and Empyrean while playing a variety of my favorite test tracks, such as Agnes Obel “The curse”, Sandro Cavazza “So much better” (Avicii remix), C-Bool “Never go away”, Ariana Grande "Break up with your girlfriend", Ed Sheeran “Shape of you”, Galantis “Hunter”, Iggy Azalea “Black widow”, Indila “Boite en argent”, Robin Schultz “Oh child”, David Elias “Vision of her”, and Michael Jackson “Dirty Diana”.

    Please keep in mind, the sound I’m describing below is how I hear my specific earphones and headphones paired up with N6ii during the testing.

    I did collect sound impressions straight out of the box, then after about 3 days of continuous playback, and later after a few more days while running battery tests. I usually don’t preach about “burn in” effect and respect whatever people believe in, but based on my personal experience with N6ii I noticed the sound changing from more neutral to slightly warmer, getting fuller and more organic in body with treble taming down. Throughout this listening process, I was going back'n'forth with a few other DAPs, using them as my point of comparison reference.

    Using IEMs/headphones mentioned above, I'm hearing N6ii as having a smoother tonality with a fuller body, especially in lower mids, and a less aggressive, more natural musical sound. It has a deeper, slightly elevated bass response which is a bit relaxed with a slower attack, natural more organic mids, and also smoother and more natural treble. In comparison to a number of other DAPs, the extra body in lower mids and tamer treble sparkle was quite noticeable, giving N6ii a more natural tonality even with a few of the songs where I typically hear a brighter leaner sound. As a result, instruments and vocals have a rich natural timbre.

    It has pretty good dynamics (vertical expansion of the sound), but I hear slightly less air between the layers since treble is more natural (less sparkly). Also, I hear a clean transient response of the note on/off transition from the black background, but the speed of how fast details pop out of the blackness was a little more relaxed, perhaps even a bit laidback. I spent quite some time comparing it to other DAPs, and I hear the sound of N6ii to be less aggressive, a little more relaxed, more analog, less digital.

    The soundstage is wide, but not exaggerated. It's not the widest I heard, and that of course will depend on earphones/headphones, recording material, your hearing, etc. But it was on par with many other flagships, having a natural realistic width and relatively accurate imaging with convincing placement of instruments and vocals. Of course, as already mentioned, a lot of this will be dictated by technical performance of your earphones and headphones, but I wanted to mention that N6ii as a source shouldn't be a limiting factor here.

    After the recent v1.15 fw update, I hear the sound to be nearly the same, just with a touch more transparency in mids which creates a slightly brighter perception of the sound. Obviously, I can’t do a real time side-by-side a/b comparison.

    cayin_n6ii-x12.jpg

    Pair up.

    Regardless if you are planning to use it with IEMs or full size headphones, I found N6ii to pair up well with everything.

    64 Audio U18t – wide expanded soundstage with an average depth, bringing you a little closer to the stage. Punchy fast bass, very articulate, layered, and well controlled. Neutral lower mids with a touch of extra body to give the sound a more natural tonality. Clear, detailed upper mids/vocals with a more revealing characteristics, but not too bright. Crisp well controlled extended treble without any harsh lower treble peaks.

    64 Audio Fourte Noir – very wide soundstage with a more intimate depth, bringing vocals closer to you. Bass has a deep extension with a meaty sub-bass rumble, and mid-bass has a strong slightly elevated punch, overall bass slams hard here. Lower mids are thicker, with a fuller body, giving the sound and the vocals a more natural organic tonality. Upper mids are clear and detailed, not as revealing, but more natural. Treble is crisp, well controlled, natural without any harsh peaks.

    Campfire Audio Andromeda – wide soundstage expansion with a little more out-of-your-head depth. Bass is a little laid back with a slower attack and a bit longer decay, more typical of DD performance, but still with a decent control with nothing spilling into lower mids. Lower mids a little on a thicker fuller body side, but not congested or muddy, instead giving a more natural laidback tonality to mids. Upper mids are clear, detailed, also more organic, smoother. Treble is well controlled, with a nice sparkle, not too crisp, no harsh peaks, detected zero sibilance in lower treble. When idling or at a very low volume level, I do hear some “waterfall” hissing, typical of lower sensitivity Andro performance, but when volume is raised, it’s not audible.

    Campfire Audio Solaris – very wide soundstage with a great depth, giving the sound a more holographic soundstage expansion. Bass goes low with a deep rumble and hits hard with a punchy fast mid-bass. Bass is well controlled, articulate, nicely layered. Lower mids are closer to neutral, though they do have a little more body, giving the sound a natural organic detailed tonality. Upper mids have great retrieval of details, not analytical, but quite revealing in a natural way. Treble is crisp, airy, and with a nice sparkle, but not harsh or spikey; no traces of sibilance was found. Really enjoyed this pair up, Solaris really shines here with a natural resolving sound, serious analog bass slam, and crisp treble details. When idling or at a very low volume level, the “waterfall” hissing level is stronger than Andro, but hardly noticeable with volume up.

    cayin_n6ii-x13.jpg

    Empire Ears Legend X – wide soundstage expansion with an average depth. Bass slams very hard in this pair up, goes deep, and mid-bass hits hard, making the bass a bit overwhelming, booming, and not as well controlled; would definitely benefit from some trimming with EQ. Lower mids are warm and on a thicker side, a bit overshadowed by the booming bass. Upper mids are pushed more back, natural and detailed, but you need to shift your focus away from the bass to hear vocals better. Treble is crisp and well defined, comes through crystal clear, and along with the bass gives LX a more v-shaped signature. I wasn’t too crazy about this pair up, but that’s my personal bias since I find LX bass a bit overwhelming for my taste, and N6ii sound sig enhances its slam even more.

    Sennheiser IE800s – wide soundstage expansion with more out of your head depth. Overall sound is more v-shaped with a smoother less aggressive bass which goes deep with a noticeable rumble and has a laid back slower mid-bass punch. Lower mids are north of neutral, with a fuller body, but nothing muddy or congested. Upper mids/vocals are clear, natural, more on a revealing side, but unfortunately pushed a little more back, especially with more staging depth which pushes them further in space. Treble is crisp, airy, snappy, not harsh but still with crisp details.

    Beyerdynamic T5p 2nd gen – wide soundstage expansion with more depth in this pair up. Bass has a deep low-end extension but closer to neutral rumble, and mid-bass is fast and punchy; don’t recall bass of T5p2 being that fast in other pair ups. Lower mids are closer to neutral, with a nice touch of natural body, and upper mids/vocals are clear, detailed, on a brighter more revealing side. Treble is bright and crisp, very revealing, with a few peaks that can get harsh in poorly recorded song. Overall sound was a bit brighter than I expected.

    cayin_n6ii-x14.jpg

    Meze Empyrean – wide open soundstage with more out of your head depth. Great low-end extension with a slightly north of neutral rumble and a fast well controlled mid-bass punch. Bass is very nicely layered and quite articulate. Lower mids are closer to neutral, maintaining a natural body with upper mids/vocals being also natural, layered, with a great retrieval of details. Treble is crisp, airy, extended, well controlled, without any offending peaks. The overall sound is well balanced, natural, open, and quite resolving.

    cayin_n6ii-x15.jpg

    Comparison.

    Every audio player has its own Pros and Cons, and you will have to figure out which ones are at the top of your priority list when deciding on your next DAP. The notes below focus more on the sound characteristics, and I was using 64 Audio U18t for monitoring, volume matched in every comparison. But when comparing the rest, keep in mind N6ii battery life, full open Android OS with access to Google Play, dual band WiFi, Bluetooth w/LDAC and aptX, 4.4mm BAL output and it’s power rating.

    N6ii vs iBasso DX220 (w/amp8 & amp9) - DX228 soundstage is a little wider; doesn’t mean N6ii staging is narrow, just under my test conditions I hear DX228 having a little edge. N6ii sound has fuller body (especially in lower mids), smoother more musical tonality, with deeper sub-bass and a little more relaxed (slower attack) mid-bass impact, more organic mids, and smoother treble response in comparison to a more transparent, more neutral sound of DX228 with a faster, tighter bass, more revealing less colored mids, and a touch more sparkle in treble. When compared to DX220 w/amp9, I still hear soundstage of DX229 being a little wider, and now having a fuller body which brings it closer to N6ii performance. I actually hear a lot of similarities in sound between N6ii and DX229, but DX229 bass has a little deeper sub-bass rumble, and lower mids have a touch fuller body, making its overall sound a little smoother and warmer in comparison to N6ii.

    cayin_n6ii-x18.jpg

    N6ii vs Lotoo PAW Gold Touch (LPGT) - similar soundstage width. N6ii tonality has a fuller warmer more natural body (especially in lower mids) vs LGPT being more transparent, brighter, leaner. Both have a deep low end extension, but N6ii bass has a little more impact, the bass (N6ii) sounds more analog with a slower attack and longer decay vs LPGT having a tighter faster bass. N6ii mids/vocals are thicker, warmer, more organic, while LPGT is brighter and more revealing. Also, LPGT treble is crisper and airier.

    N6ii vs Cowon Plenue L - very similar soundstage width. There are a lot of similarities in tonality and sound presentation between these two DAPs. Both have a deeper, more relaxed low end with a more analog flavor. Both have a fuller body more natural mids, though I'm hearing N6ii sounding just a touch warmer and fuller. But one noticeable difference is in treble, where N6ii presents treble in a smoother, more organic way, while PL has a brighter, crisper, more extended treble.

    N6ii vs A&K SP1000 SS - N6ii soundstage is a touch wider than SPK, under my test conditions. The sound signatures are closer in tonality, being more natural, more musical, not as revealing, but there are some subtle differences. SPK bass is a little faster while N6ii bass is a little more relaxed, with more analog texture. Lower mids in N6ii have a little more body, actually reminding me a lot of SPKM Gold tonality (or SPK CU), especially in lower mids, while SPK SS is a little more neutral in comparison. Also, I find that SPK SS has a little more sparkle in treble.

    N6ii vs Sony WM1Z - N6ii soundstage is a touch wider than 1Z, under my test conditions. N6ii sound is a little more organic with a fuller body, while 1Z is a little more neutral. Both have a very similar bass extension and impact, and to my ears the bass in both has a touch of analog texture. But I do hear the bass attack a little faster in 1Z. Mids are a little leaner, more neutral in 1Z, while N6ii has a little warmer, smoother presentation of mids. Also, 1Z treble is a little crisper, brighter, slightly more elevated.

    N6ii vs Hiby R6Pro - I hear a lot of overall similarities between these two DAPs. Soundstage expansion has a similar width, maybe with N6ii being just a touch wider. Both have a similar bass extension and bass impact, except N6ii sounds a touch more relaxed, while R6Pro is a little faster. Both have fuller body lower mids and more natural upper mids, but N6ii is a little smoother and more organic, takes just an edge off R6Pro. Also, treble is a little smoother and a touch less crisp in N6ii, giving it a little more natural tonality. One difference I did notice, N6ii has a slightly better sound dynamics with improved layering and separation of sounds. I mentioned this in a few other recent DAP comparisons; it doesn’t mean that R6Pro is congested/compressed, just that I find other DAPs to have a slight edge over it.

    N6ii vs Cayin N5iiS - N6ii has a wider soundstage, a little smoother tonality, slightly more body in mids, and a little less sparkle in treble. Also, N6ii has a superior technical performance with better dynamics, and improved layering and separation of sounds. I wouldn’t say exactly night’n’day difference, but you can clearly hear the performance of N6ii being superior over N5iiS.

    N6ii vs Cayin N6 - N6ii has a wider soundstage. There is a difference in tonality with N6ii being warmer, smoother, more laidback, while N6 being brighter, crisper, more revealing. N6ii has more sub-bass rumble, better extension, fuller body in lower mids, and smoother treble, while N6 sound has a faster bass, leaner mids, and crisper treble. It’s hard to believe how much this DAP evolved in 4.5 years from N6 to N6ii.

    cayin_n6ii-x19.jpg

    Conclusion.

    Every time I receive a new DAP for review, the first question I hear from my readers “which DAP sounds better?” The problem is while the price gap is still pretty wide, the sound performance among flagship level DAPs starting to get closer. One of the more noticeable differences is in tonality which will affect the pair up synergy with your favorite IEMs or full size headphones.

    While testing N6ii, I found its sound to be different from many of my other DAPs, offering a smoother and more musical tonality, with more analog texture, slightly laidback presentation, and fuller body with a touch less treble sparkle. It makes no sense to describe it as the best or the better, when in reality it’s different and unique, and will be up to a personal sound preference.

    What I can objectively say, N6ii has a fast processor with a snappy Android performance and access to Google Play to download your favorite streaming and other entertainment apps. It has a rather impressive battery life, and it features a more reliable 4.4mm BAL headphone output with 530mW of power (@32 ohm load), which also doubles as a balanced Line Output. It has a good design ergonomics, and I especially like the convenience of volume wheel and a power button combination (like in A&K DAPs). And last, but certainly not least, is the main selling point of N6ii modular design where you can replace its DAC/amp combo to update the sound signature.

    cayin_n6ii-x20.jpg
      fokta, ngoshawk, Yassa and 3 others like this.
    1. gazzington
      How close to the n8 Sound is It?
      gazzington, Jul 31, 2019
      Rayzilla likes this.
    2. twister6
      @gazzington : Sorry, I only had N8 on loan for review last year. It has been too long to go by memory; I can only comment on side by side a/b comparison.
      twister6, Jul 31, 2019
    3. gazzington
      I have an n8 and the n6ii now. The n8 is better but the n6ii is great for out and about. Cayin are in rude health. Soundwise, they are number one for me now
      gazzington, Aug 17, 2019
      twister6 likes this.
  7. Rockwell75
    Cayin N6ii - Emotional Content
    Written by Rockwell75
    Published Jul 7, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Organic and emotionally engaging tonality, snappy intuitive Android interface, minimal lag, Google Play app included stock, battery life, responsive and effective EQ, hefty but reasonably portable
    Cons - It's a bit of a brick, not cheap, not as portable as some, screen attracts fingerprints easily
    Like a Finger Pointing Away to the Moon-- My Quest for the Perfect DAP

    First off let me say that I am somewhat new to the world of high-end portable audio and as such I probably lack the experience, perception and vocabulary to do a really thorough review. That said I have been passionate about great sound my whole life and I know what I like. In that spirit I will share a bit of my journey through the audio world in an attempt to describe and do justice to this amazing music player.

    It all began for me earlier this year when I picked up a pair of Campfire Audio Atlas IEMs and a Fiio M9. The Atlas totally blew me away with their massive sound, thunderous low end and crisp, sparkling highs. The M9 is a great sounding player and belongs on the "cooler" more analytic side of the spectrum. In this regard it was a great match for the naturally robust and powerful sound of the Atlas which was held in check by the subdued tonality of the player. As luck would have it (or tragedy if you talk to my wallet) I had an opportunity to demo the Campfire Audio Solaris and fell in love with them (the full story is recounted in my showcase review of that IEM). As it turned out, while great for the Atlas, the more balanced and "polite" presentation of the Solaris didn't come through as well on the M9. Detail retrieval and sound quality was excellent but the cooler more reference tonality coupled with Solaris' comparative lack of bass emphasis left a little to be desired. It didn't help the EQ on the M9 is absolutely useless...and thus I began searching for a better player to complement my IEMs.

    In terms of tonality DAPs tend to fall somewhere on a spectrum with neutral, reference, and cooler sounding players on one end and warm, musical and more organic sounding players on the other. After a lot of reading and research I came to the conclusion that my preferences were more on the latter end of things and with that I ended up replacing my Fiio M9 with a Sony ZX300. The ZX300 is an amazing player full of that 'je ne sais quoi' almost sexiness that characterizes the best Sony products. The interface is slick, intuitive and fast, the battery life is amazing, the player is eminently portable and most importantly the sound has a slightly warm, organic presentation that is clear and clean. Furthermore the ZX300 has a decent EQ and capacity for tweaking sound. Ultimately it was a clear step above the M9 in terms of synergy with the balanced and musical majesty of Solaris. My only qualms with the sound presentation of the ZX300 were that often (especially on older tracks) the presentation seemed slightly veiled, making it difficult to become fully immersed in the music; the higher frequencies tended to be a big fatiguing during longer listening sessions at times; and lastly there was some degree of hiss present (though not enough to really be distracting). For all I knew at the time this was more due to the tuning of Solaris than anything so I trudged on and, whether due to burn-in or my own psychology I eventually got over this and fully embraced the sound of the ZX300.

    If sound quality was the only factor I would probably have been totally content with the Sony player however the thing that eventually drove me nuts about it was its playlist functionality. In a word-- it sucks. I love to keep a favorites list going and quickly throw together playlists on the fly-- both of these things are impossible in Sony's ecosystem. At first I shrugged it off but got more and more irritating-- to the point that I eventually started browsing the marketplaces on Head-Fi and reading everything I could on up and coming DAPs. While all that was happening I had a chance to demo both a Questyle QP2R and Cowon Plenue R. Both had their strengths but were not for me. The Questyle in particular sounded amazing but it's user interface (both physically and software wise) were so frustrating that if I had to rely on it as my daily player I probably would have smashed it to pieces by now.

    (For those who are still with me and haven't given up while shaking your heads wondering why, this far into a review of the N6ii I haven't even mentioned it yet-- be patient, I'm getting there.)

    I came to realize that, for my needs and preferences, a quality DAP embodies a number of factors-- usability, battery life, playlist functionality, functional EQ and, most importantly, an organic and musical tonality and, as long as it's my main IEM, compatibility with Solaris (which for my tastes implies a DAP with a warmish and natural presentation with non-fatiguing highs). With that in mind I set out researching the latest slew of releases by Fiio, Ibasso, Astell & Kern and Cayin. A&K was out for me because at this time I'm more-or-less committed to 4.4mm balanced and they're still stubbornly relying exclusively on 2.5. Fiio was out because, based on what I'd read, I saw no reason to suspect that the presentation of the M11 would be dramatically different from the M9 in terms of overall tonality. Furthermore, I also read that, in a lot of ways the DX220, at least in its stock configuration, is close to the M11. This coupled with some early reviews I'd read describing its sound and battery life lead me to pull the trigger on the Cayin N6ii and, spoiler alert, I'm only two days in but am prepared to say that it embodies everything I've been looking for in a DAP, plus a few things didn't know I was looking for.

    First off I wanna give props to Andrew and Musicteck for their impeccable service. All my questions were answered and the device was shipped to me promptly and arrived in record time. First impressions of the device-- it is unequivocally a brick. It's a little thicker and longer than a pack of cards and the device packs some serious heft. I'm not sure I'd want to bring it on an airplane for fear security would worry about my capacity to club someone out with it. While not the most portable, I would be (and have been) comfortable carrying it around my house, on shopping trips, on short trips about town. Where it might not work is for when I go biking, running, hiking, or on longer excursions as the impact of my exertion and the weight of the player would probably pull my pants off. In any case I am probably going to keep my ZX300 on hand for those purposes and it suits them perfectly. The N6ii feels great in the hand and can be operated with one hand very comfortably. The controls are intuitive and the screen is sufficiently responsive. One of the advantages of Android based DAPs is the ability to choose a music player that suits your needs. I have played around with Hiby Music, Neutron, Jet Player and Cayin's own app. On the whole at this point I am preferring the Cayin app-- the interface works well for me, it's easy to use and does everything I want it to. An added note the player comes with a nice leather protective case-- something I deem an essential for players at this level.

    Charging this thing is fairly easy as it is quick charge compatible-- it's nice to go back to USB C after dealing with (and worrying about losing) Sony's proprietary cable for the last few months. The battery life is decent. Based on reading around the average for flagship DAPs seems to hover around 8 hours. It's too soon to say unequivocally at this point but extrapolating from my current usage I seem to be burning about 8% per hour with occasional (<10 min/hour) of screen time while listening to FLAC files on high gain with the EQ activated and WIFI off-- which should net me about 12 hours playback total. Not bad at all. On my first night with the device I turned off WIFI and bluetooth and, after 7 hours overnight I awoke to find the battery had dropped about 15% while idling. On the second night, with WIFI and bluetooth off I also unplugged my earphones and when I woke up the battery life hadn't dropped at all-- so maybe having the earphones plugged in keeps something in the device active. Perhaps future firmware updates will address this.

    Now is where things get good-- the sound quality. An obvious caveat here is that when describing the sound quality of a DAP it's hard to know where to draw the line between whether you're really describing the qualities of the DAP, your earphones, or the synergy between the two...so take this as you will and, of course, YMMV. The sound of this DAP is robust and muscular and, I would say, leans slightly to the warm side. The whole presentation has a richness and weight that I haven't heard in other players. I would definitely describe it as analogue and organic-- it's got a density but at the same time plenty of air with everything having room to breathe. The EQ on this player is very effective-- my Solaris responded very well on all frequencies-- more so than on any other player I have tried. There are many people who deny that, after a certain point, increases in power make any difference or who claim that people who spend over $1000 on a DAP are just rubes jerking themselves with snake oil. Truth be told prior to hearing this DAP I had almost completed my application form for the club of people who don't think there's a significant difference or improvement in sound quality as you move up the power and price chain. My experiences with the N6ii have wholesale converted me in the opposite direction. The Solaris is very easy to drive but its 10mm dynamic driver responds very well to EQ. Now, that's not to say that the differences are huge, that diminishing returns aren't a thing, or that everyone will feel the same way with the same experiences-- but for me the past two days with this device have been a revelation and I am wholly satisfied with the money I have spent.

    So what places the N6ii in an echelon above the Sony ZX300 for me?

    Firstly the hiss is greatly diminished and this has lead to an increase in detail coming to the fore but much more importantly is that the slight veil I had experienced through the ZX300 on many tracks is wholly gone. Forgive the analogy but the best way I can describe this is to compare the difference between using condoms and not. It's still possible to have an amazing and beautiful experience with them but as long as even a slight barrier is present it prevents a total and complete connection. When you remove said barrier the level of intimacy and depth of connection you feel gets magnified in ways that can have a profound emotional impact. I've never felt this connected and in touch with my music before-- even with older and less ideal recordings. Everything just feels like it's right there around you. I've been sitting here listening to music while trying to write this review and so often I've been pulled away from writing because the sound coming out of my Solaris through the N6ii is so enveloping and engging that it captures all my attention. I feel fully immersed and one with the musical space and not simply a spectator to it.

    I can say with all honestly that I never really understood what the terms "emotional" and "musical" with respect to sound signatures meant until I heard the Solaris through the N6ii. This player is a perfect complement to the natural honesty and balanced tuning of the Solaris. I listened to a high res version of "Horse With No Name" and it brought forth a wave of emotion greater than I'd ever felt listening to that song before. A/Bing for a bit it felt that, on many tracks, my ZX300 indeed seems almost veiled and lifeless in comparison. Separation, imaging and holography-- already exemplary on Solaris-- are greatly improved, which leads to an increased perception of air, detail and soundstage. Couple that with the weighty and thick signature of the N6ii and you have winning combo. Extension is great on both ends, the low end is tastefully enhanced, mids are robust and the top end is presented in an engaging and non-fatiguing way...and yet none of this is really the point. I can imagine players that are better extended, that retrieve more details, that are more neutral and analytical-- but they still wouldn't capture the charm and beauty of the "Cayin sound" which seems to me to be the capacity to present the music as an organic, musical and engaging whole. If I had to sum it up in two words I would quote the late, great Bruce Lee and say that the essence of the N6ii is "Emotional Content".

    66120319_10162131959025654_2531471505427005440_n.jpg



    67082984_10162154483525654_568184590842200064_n.jpg

    Fotor_156452320826132.jpg

    (Will add more images as I get around to taking them.)