HRT MicroStreamer
Mar 18, 2013 at 2:35 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 109

bobeau

Headphoneus Supremus
I don't believe a thread exists for this amazing device so I thought I'd create one.

First off, links to pro reviews:

http://positive-feedback.com/Issue65/microstreamer.htm
http://www.whathifi.com/review/hrt-microstreamer
http://www.theabsolutesound.com/articles/hrt-microstreamer-pocket-rocket/

My own impressions:

I've had a DragonFly since last summer and a Meridian Explorer for a bit over a month.  I'm not good at reviews so I'll keep it succinct - I was never a big fan of the DF.  I found it overly warm and bloomy down low and going on over 6 mos of almost daily use my opinion hasn't changed much.  When others say it's tight/detailed/bright I don't hear that at all, and this is running a variety of IEMs out of it (TG334, GR07 MKII, FXZ-200, FXD-80, EPH-100).  The ME is interesting.  Obviously the first batch has a very high output impedance of 47 ohms, apparently that's corrected on currently shipping units (although we don't know how much).  With the right tips I thought it paired pretty awesome with my TG334s, albeit a bit thin with recessed bass.  But overall the sound is such that it justifies the expense of these very pricey IEMs.  I can't quite say the same of the DF.  Due to the nature of my work I need a compact solution that attaches to my 11" MBA.

Enter the MicroStreamer.  I've had it about 5 days now with maybe 30 hours of head time.  I'm in love.  It seems to right the wrongs of the DF, but I can't quite say it bests the ME or will esp. once the impedance issue is corrected.  My gut feeling is the MS still has an ever so slight warm/analogue thing going with it, but the bass holds up well and the whole sound is rather coherent and detailed if not a detail-meister.  With the ME, I guess we'll have to wait and see... in any case, just getting the ball rolling so others can share their impressions.  

Mar 18, 2013 at 8:59 PM Post #2 of 109