How do you support your Headphone Habit?
Jul 20, 2001 at 11:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

sackley

Audiophile can you spare a dime?
Well, I am curious. How do some of you pay for your habit or what do you do for a living? I am a full time student (AKA really poor), but I am a full time software developer during the summer and sale associate at Sears (You have no idea how much I hate being around their junk all day and listening to people constantly praising it). Just thought I would toss this out there.

Jul 20, 2001 at 11:20 PM Post #2 of 27
Well, I'm not sure if this is appropriate or not.. but usually, what I like to do, is just ask people on Head-Fi if they can help out a head-fi brother in need... I mean, I'll pay for shipping, is what I tell 'em. And sometimes, they bite.

I mean, look at these HD-600s and RS-1s. They took but 5 weeks to get here via book rate postage, but well worth the wait!

But seriously.. not in attempt to cut the thread short, but I think that most of us just work to support the habit. Me personally, I'm a database/sys-engie. The only thing I need to really support my habit now is a steady supply of good music.
biggrin.gif

Jul 20, 2001 at 11:35 PM Post #5 of 27
Heh... well, I have this little job at the University that pays me pretty well, almost full time this summer (that is, taking some courses at the University in the morning) and part time in the regular school year (though I don't know if I can do that anymore, too much pressure).

Hm, I wish I didn't poison myself with mercury the other day though...

Basically I do research under this lab, learn a lot and good for college while helping my headphone habit
biggrin.gif
(though I don't spend it all on headphonestuff, I have other things to buy). I like my job...

Jul 21, 2001 at 12:31 AM Post #6 of 27