Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Source Gear › FiiO X5 preview world tour--tour members, claim your souvenir for the X5 tour! p.123
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

FiiO X5 preview world tour--tour members, claim your souvenir for the X5 tour! p.123

post #1 of 1848
Thread Starter 
Tour members, claim your souvenir for the X5 tour here!

X5 has started shipping worldwide<--click to see details

All preview impressions by tour members can be found here
First arrival beerchug.gif (click me)
X5 arrives at lee730's door, first impressions (click me)
First impressions by reihead here, here
X5 arriving at musicheaven's door, gelocks
First impressions by Brooko



http://youtu.be/bI2zu495TkI

Merry Christmas to all head-fiers! Here's something to liven up the festival season biggrin.gif

On behalf of FiiO, I’m pleased to announce that our upcoming high-end DAP the X5 is nearing completion and we have sent out several beta units on a world test / preview tour!

Preview application period: 20-26 December 2013
Previewer list announcement period: 2 January 2014
Beginning of shipment of preview X5s: 14 January 2014

Keep your eyes on this thread as the preview units are shipped out and preview impressions start appearing! smily_headphones1.gif

Shipping info:
Depending on the geographical distribution of selected reviewers, FiiO will ship out several X5s, one or more to reviewers in each region, e.g. USA, Europe, SE Asia, Pacific region, etc. so that shipping costs from one reviewer to the next is kept low. FiiO will pay for shipping to the first reviewer and from the last reviewer back to FiiO for each region.

•Please note that the review X5s will not ship with micro SD cards. Please prepare your own micro SD cards and music files for review and preferably format the cards within the X5 prior to use.

Review regulations (subject to change before the tour commences):
•Reviewers should keep the X5 for at most 10 days before shipping to the next reviewer.
•Reviewers should ship the X5 to the next reviewer by registered post in the padded box provided.
•Reviewers will not be held responsible for any damage to the X5 sustained during shipping or normal usage.
•Reviewers should do the review fairly and objectively, and related product photos are required.
•Reviewers should not overstate the advantages of the products.
•Reviewers should indicate that the review X5s are free loan units, in order to avoid any misunderstandings.
•Reviewers are prohibited from using or disseminating pirated music on the X5.
•Reviewers are reminded to listen responsibly and safely to the X5, to not use it when operating machinery or driving, and not to drive headphones to excessive volume with the X5.
•Reviewers should send the review content to us for examination prior to publishing—for basic fact-checking purposes only. We will only request corrections of factual mistakes regarding the X5. Reviewers should post the corrections alongside their original content for reference.
Edited by Joe Bloggs - 4/17/14 at 4:51am
post #2 of 1848
Thread Starter 
Announcement of members selected for previewing the X5 sorted by region smily_headphones1.gif

Latest X5 firmware: 1.23beta<-click me

International X5's shipped with firmware version: 1.20<-click me

Firmware FW1.15beta, with changelog and download link <-click me[/size]

X5 firmware FW1.10, with changelog and download link <-click me

Notes and guidelines on the X5 preview process (subject to change while I'm finalizing things here smily_headphones1.gif )

1. Choosing a suitable microSD card: The only guideline I have is, it must not be a fake redface.gif
If you're looking to buy one on the cheap, it is better to buy an off-brand card you know there are no fakes of than to get a shady bargain on a Sandisk or a Kingston rolleyes.gif
2. Receiving the X5: I have given your contact number to the courier, they should phone you if they have trouble finding you. Please keep the shipping carton the X5 came in so you may use it again when shipping to the next previewer.
3. Previewing the X5:
There are no set guidelines on the preview format. We just ask that it be of sufficient quantity and quality biggrin.gif
-If it is a text preview, it should be adequately illustrated with photos of what you're talking about and be of sufficient length to cover a meaningful number of aspects of the player;
-If it is a video preview, it should not be an unboxing video (seeing as the X5 packaging may change between now and the international release); it should be a good-lengthed video covering you talking about and demonstrating various aspects of actual usage of the X5.
-Of course, you're welcome to preview the X5 by text and video in one big article biggrin.gif
-Since you only have 10 days for previewing the X5, it is encouraged that you spend the five days using the unit intensively and writing short notes and drafts for your preview (taking video footage if necessary) and finalize your preview article / edit and voiceover your video after your ten days is up.
-Please post the preview on head-fi's official product review platform here
http://www.head-fi.org/products/fiio-x5-high-res-portable-music-player
as well as in this thread. You are of course encouraged to post it on your own blogs and websites too as you see fit smily_headphones1.gif
*It might not be a good idea to choose "had it" as it may end up looking like dozens of users selling off their X5 tongue.gif

4. Sending the X5 to the next previewer: the detailed procedure for this will vary depending on country and recipient. Please refer to your group's pm conversation for details. Some generally applicable rules:
*Please clear the X5's media library database by doing a media library update after ejecting all cards from the player.
-You may ship the X5 in the shipping carton it came in. If you've lost it or if it is damaged, please buy a suitably sturdy new carton to put the package in.
-Please make sure all the following components of the X5 preview package make it back into the box for the next previewer biggrin.gif :

* The X5 itself (duh tongue.gif )
* X5's silicone case
* The box the X5 came in and the card stand inside
* X5 quick start guide
* bundled USB cable
* bundled USB card reader
* 3.5mm to RCA coaxial digital adapter cable
* warranty card
* 3 3.5mm port cover plugs
* 2 extra LCD screen protector films
* X5 button layout cue sheet
* HDTracks coupon

-The X5 must be shipped by a registered method.
-Please keep the mailing receipt when mailing out the X5 and send me a picture of the receipt via pm as proof of having sent the X5 to the next previewer.

5. Sending the preview in for fact checking: please send your X5 preview to me by pm and I'll get back to you within 48 hours and inform you if there are any factual errors that need to be corrected. If it's a text review, please add the corrections alongside the original text in parentheses. If it's a video review, please add the corrections as text notes after the video.

In other words, there should not be and will not be any censoring of published preview content. Even though I will suggest corrections to basic factual mistakes regarding the X5 (basic stuff like forgetting there's two micro SD card slots or that the X5 has a lock button instead of a lock lever), you should post such corrections alongside your original text for full disclosure to readers.

The pdf of the X5 quick start guide (a hard copy of which is included in the tour package--try not to lose it redface.gif )
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yt0cjq3dptq14mj/X5%20Quick%20start%20guide.pdf

I'm translating a full manual of the X5... it's a work in progress redface.gif
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cek9xf0wk2osky7/X5%20full%20user%20manual.DOC
Credit goes to musicheaven for some editing and addition as well smily_headphones1.gif
Edited by Joe Bloggs - 4/17/14 at 4:52am
post #3 of 1848
Thread Starter 
Notes on the preview units:
1. DSD decoding and USB OTG storage function is yet to be implemented;
2. The preview X5s have a current draw while idle is 9mA while those that have gone on sale have a current draw of 4mA (translation: battery life will be better with retail units)
3. The volume keys on the preview X5s are a bit stiff; retail units will have a smoother action.
4. You may forward any problems you encounter while previewing the X5s to support@fiio.net (or pm me, of course smily_headphones1.gif )
5. X5 USB DAC driver can be downloaded here
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3kqjgvzu4nuvid2/Driver%20for%20X5%20USB_DAC.zip

Known issues with preview units that shall be resolved before official worldwide sale of X5:
1. mp3s will be decoded perfectly in floating point by March.
2. It should probably be possible to select an artist, genre, etc. and be shown a list of albums instead of just a list of matching songs.
3. I think double-clicking on Update Media Lib shouldn't cause a quick hang anymore redface.gif
4. Media Library update still hangs on some heavy use cases (too many songs, etc.). James has stated that this will be fixed in an upcoming firmware.

You may enter your own bug and / or suggestion submissions here:
https://app.devzing.com/FiiO/bugzilla/
Edited by Joe Bloggs - 2/4/14 at 7:32pm
post #4 of 1848

I'd be interested in hearing it.

 

I currently own a Tralucent 1Plus2, Spiral Ear SE5 and Flat 4 Sui. My current DAPs are AK120-S Mod, Rocoo BA and iphone4. I've owned an ibasso DX100, Hifiman 601, Sansa Fuze & e280, RWA AK100, Studio V 2nd edition & Studio V 3rd ANV. I've owned Fiio Products in the past (E7 and E9). The reviews I've done are listed below. I live in the USA, Hawaii. I speak English and can speak some Spanish.

 

http://www.head-fi.org/users/169070/reviews


Edited by lee730 - 12/19/13 at 10:46pm
post #5 of 1848

This is awesome news! I hope I am eligible!

I own and use the Creative Aurvana Air headphones, Aurvana In Ear 2s, and the Aurvana DJ phones aswell.
I have owned a wealth of Creative and Cowon players through the years, from the Zen Neeon through to the Cowon X5. [X5 lol!]
I have owned about 13 DAPs overall.

I considered buying the Fiio X3 but when I found out about the X5 I decided to hold off, so this will be my first Fiio product.

I used to post many DAP reviews on Epizenter.net, but this sight has unfortunately been taken down..
My Geographial location is NSW, Australia.
And I can read English, Spanish and Danish. [Plus some Norwegian]

post #6 of 1848

-Headphone(s) you possess: Sennheiser HD598, Sennheiser HD438
-DAP(s) you possess: Creative Vision: M, Sony Xperia Z C6603, Sansa Clip 16GB, iPod Nano, Sony MHC79I

-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any): None
-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted: n/a
-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in): Westbury, England.
-Language(s) you can read: English

post #7 of 1848

I'm interested.

 

I have the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro 250Ohms and the Hippo ProOne IEM. For DAPs I only have the X3. I have owned several of Fiio's products and they are the E3, D3, and I once had an E10. I live in Malaysia and can read English and Malay well.

post #8 of 1848

I would love to do a review. Besides being a music nut, I own a technical writing company so I can promise you an insightful, well written review.

 

Among other lesser headphones, my main headphones include LCD2v2, Hidition NT6 Pro, TF10, Monster Coppers, W3, HD595. My current DAPs include my DX50, iPod Classic 6th Gen, iPhone 5, Clip+, Clip Zip, C3, and others. FIIO products that I own include the E5 amp, L8 and L9 and other specialty cables, RC-UE2 TF10 replacement cables, and other FIIO odds and ends.

 

I have done a number of reviews, but mostly short impressions within threads. Here are a couple longer ones:

http://www.head-fi.org/t/668279/usa-order-just-got-my-hidition-nt6-pros

http://www.head-fi.org/t/693970/comparing-amp-interconnect-silver-upgrades-silver-gold-basic-by-onest11

 

There are more reviews, but it is harder to track them down when I didn't start the thread.

 

I am located in Seattle, WA, USA so like many Americans, I only read English fluently. Given Google translate, I have been known to communicate in many languages. :smile:

post #9 of 1848
-headphones: hd580, d2000 Alpha pads with rosewood Cocobolo cups, ue11 ciem
-DAP(s) you possess: AK120, iPhone 5s, MacBook Pro
-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any): n/a
-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted:
Facebook re: Burson (page) soloist SL + LCD-3 loaner program
-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in): Santa Clara, CA 95051 USA

Thanks for your consideration - I'm just an appreciator of the music: jazz/funk/soul/hip hop (bossa nova/samba) classical, and rock
Edited by Physther - 12/19/13 at 11:05pm
post #10 of 1848

-Headphone(s) you possess: Shure SE535, SE425, SE215
-DAP(s) you possess: Sansa Clip 16GB, iPod Nano, Venturecarft Go-Dap X, etc.

-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any): X3 and i love it :-)
-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted: n/a, but I will post some review if you send me one...
-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in): Zürich, Switzerland
-Language(s) you can read: English, German

post #11 of 1848

-Headphone(s) you possess:

HD 650

HD 580

HD 518

Fidelio x1

Alessandro ms-one

Koss portapro

Cosmic Ears pure

 

-DAP(s) you possess:

Phone and surface tablet

Cowon j3

 

-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any):

E10

E5

The extension cable and cable for x1 which i got for review purpose.

 

-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted:

 

-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in):

Netherlands

 

-Language(s) you can read:

Dutch, german, english.

post #12 of 1848

-Headphone(s) you possess: JH Audio JH13 Pro, Beyerdynamic T1

-DAP(s) you possess: Galaxy S3 (had longer experience with a modded 5G iPod Rockbox'd, Sansa Fuze, HM-601, Cowons, brief with Sony DAPs)

-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any): N/A

-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted: N/A, but I keep posts informative about sound signature and impressions

-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in): Auckland, New Zealand

-Language(s) you can read: English, Japanese (can read Chinese Characters Kanji but not perfectly)

 

Hoping one can come around for NZ so we can have a good listen...

post #13 of 1848

I'm a babe in the world of portable audio. :)

 

  • Home source: Marantz SA8001 | DAP: SanDisk Clip+
  • Headphones: Shure SRH840
  • Fiio products: None
  • Language: English
  • Location: Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
  • No reviews
  • Other: As a person with a significant physical disability, I would bring a distinctive perspective to the subject of product usability

 

Many thanks,

 

Brian

post #14 of 1848
-Headphone(s) you possess: Sennheiser HD600, Shure SE215, SE535
-DAP(s) you possess: DX50, iPhone 5S, iPod Nano, iPod Mini, iPod Classic and iPad
-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any): None
-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted: n/a
-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in): Boston, Massachusetts USA
-Language(s) you can read: English, French

I am an avid music lover of all genres. I would be more than happy to provide you with a fair and objective review on the X5 mind you being an avid Apple user I certainly have a very good point of reference. Can't wait to experience the X5.
Edited by musicheaven - 12/19/13 at 11:41pm
post #15 of 1848

Hey Joe Bloggs,

 

We would love to audition X5. It seems that meeting fellow audiophile at immediate social surrounding is very hard to come by. However I was fortunate enough to have a colleague and friend who spent many years refining the stereo systems of their choice and taste with careful selections/configurations, learn from them in every way, and share the ideas/impressions on vintage/new. Lately, we were pretty impressed with AK100, and we would love to see how X5 would give iRiver run for the money.

 

-Headphone(s) you possess: LCD2 v2, DT1350; IEM: Shure 535, Etymotic ER4S
-DAP(s) you possess: iRiver AK100, Cowon Z2, iPods, iPhones
-FiiO product(s) you possess (if any): D3, Had E11
-Descriptions and links to review(s) you have posted: brief impression on AK100: http://www.amazon.com/review/RIZCMVLRQGNF4/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm

-Your geographical region (e.g. the city and country you live in): Palisades Park, NJ
-Language(s) you can read: Chinese, Korean, English

 

Thanks,

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Portable Source Gear
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Source Gear › FiiO X5 preview world tour--tour members, claim your souvenir for the X5 tour! p.123