YEA! HD650 came in today
Dec 13, 2004 at 11:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

MaMMa

100+ Head-Fier
Just got my HD650s and damn they sound very very nice. I'm running it with my MisterX Subgilmore amp but now I'd like to invest in another one
smily_headphones1.gif

I'm having a really really hard time on 2 that I've narrowed down to. Both have awsome reviews and feedback from head-fi and I can't make a decision. Its down to flip a coin basically.

The PPX3 or the Gilmore Lite + PS
confused.gif

I'm kind of scard to get tube because that will just lead to more money and I'm a broke student.

Dec 14, 2004 at 12:04 AM Post #2 of 17
Congrats! And i've heard that Senns take a crapload of time to burn in, so don't look into new amps until your headphone is fully burned in!

BTW I believe the MisterX Subgilmore is the same amp as the Headamp Gilmore Lite - same amp, different builders. So I wouldn't recommend selling one to buy the other.

That said, I've read that amp is a good match for the HD650, so I'd wait until full burn in before determining for yourself that it isn't.

Finally, The PPX is a great Singlepower Tube Amp and I've had the pleasure of listening to it for the first time at the NYC meet. But it will definitely be apples and oranges compared to your solid state amp, so again I wouldn't jump into it just yet, best to let your ears work into your cans and vice versa.

Finally, what kind of source do you have? That might make a bigger diff than a new amp at this point.

Dec 14, 2004 at 12:15 AM Post #4 of 17
I've got an EMU-0404 with the rat shack convertors to Tributaries ICs. These cans had 2 previous owners to my understanding.

I didn't know MisterX's sub gilmore is like the lite. I should speak with him. Man he rocks! Thanks for the knowledge!

Dec 14, 2004 at 12:22 AM Post #5 of 17
Quote:

Originally Posted by TURBO
Congrats with your new headphones. I am planning on getting those. Could you tell, where did you purchased from?. Thanks.
icon10.gif