Xonar STX/X-Fi Titanium HD headphone/amp question...HELP I'm lost
Jul 4, 2013 at 2:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

Geist

Head-Fier
So...I'm building a gaming PC, my first one. I'll be using k701 headphones. I own a GS-1 headphone amp that I'd like to incorporate into my gaming rig if possible. But I'm confused. I have zero knowledge of PC audio so any help is appreciated.

Firstly, which card is better for headphone gaming? I've read that the X-FI Titanium HD is the better choice for gaming and the Xonar Essence STX is better for music, so I was leaning towards the X-FI.

Now, X-FI doesn't have a headphone amp, does it? And I think I read if you try and use the outputs to an amp or whatever you lose all the EAX, CMSS-3D Headphone features, which is obviously a deal breaker for a gaming headphone setup if this is true.

If the Xonar was the better choice I suppose could just skip the GS-1 and use the amp built into the card, though I'm guessing the GS-1 would still be better than the soundcard amp, so I'd like to use it if possible.

Hell, I don't even know if you can use a GS-1 (or any external headphone amp) with a soundcard. Sigh.

As you can see I am totally lost. If you guys could give me some advice/guidance I would be so grateful.

Jul 4, 2013 at 2:57 AM Post #2 of 4
The Titanium HD can output headphone surround sound thru it's RCA outputs.
So just run an RCA to RCA cable from the Titanium HD to the GS-1
I would assume the STX and Titanium HD are fairly equal for music quality.

Jul 4, 2013 at 12:41 PM Post #3 of 4
I own and have used both cards so I can tell you a bit about them. The Xonar has a built in headphone amp while the Titanium HD does not, like you said. So if you use hard to drive headphones without a dedicated headphone amp, the Xonar is going to be better. Xonar comes with Dolby Headphone Surround so its positional sounds in games is not bad, that said CMSS is a bit better I find.