Wow!: Waveform analysis of a select few songs.
Oct 17, 2009 at 3:52 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

blackbird

100+ Head-Fier
Today, I had an hour of free time(10pm today
smile.gif
), so I decided to grab a few songs from my Gigabeat to examine in audicity using my windows pc. I'm not that good at identifying which ones are brickwalled, but some of them are simply apparent. How exactly do you identify clipping in audicity? I don't really know how to do it. All of the files are FLAC, and from the original mastered cd unless noted.

Anyway, I made screenshots of the waveforms, and so I'm going to discuss my (albeit, interesting and surprising findings). I did not know that some were brickwalled, and others that I thought sounded great were actually brickwalled. Just goes to show that you can't tell by listening.

Test 1: 3 Goo Goo Dolls

1: Goo Goo Dolls: Broadway(Dizzy Up the Girl)
2. Goo Goo Dolls: Feel the Silence (Let Love In)
3. Goo Goo Dolls: So Far Away (Superstar Car Wash)

There was nothing surprising about Broadway, because I knew it sounded decent. Feel the Silence, however, is VERY surprising, because when I listen to it, it seems like there is alot of clipping and digital artifacts, but the waveform doesn't actually look that bad. So Far Away is also very interesting, because it sounds amazing, but it looks very brickwalled for something released in 1993. Ironically, it seems that the waveform is more bricked than Broadway, which was released 5 years later. Correct me if I'm wrong, since i'm not that experienced in these things.

Test 2: 3 Bricks

1. Saosin:It's So Simple(Saosin)
2. Bloc Party:Luno (Silent Alarm)
3. Interpol:pDA(Turn on the Bright Lights)