Windows 7 PC audio setup guidance
Apr 6, 2011 at 11:41 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

HeyWaj10

100+ Head-Fier
Hi all,

I have been doing a lot of searching through this forum and others, such as audiogon, avsforum, and stereophile.  However, I'm still a relative noob in the computer audio setup world, especially when it comes to the whole bit-perfect setup.  After much reading, I think I've set on running MediaMonkey as my media player, or Foobar.  From there, I'm pretty confused still.

My setup is as follows:

Dell Studio Slim 540s
Soundcard - Realtek ALC888 HD Audio 7.1 w/ S/PDIF
Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
FLAC files ripped with EAC
MediaMonkey (or Foobar)
uDac2
Sony TA-AX500 Integrated Amplifier (soon to be Musical Fidelity X-Canv3)
Sennheiser HD595

With regard to bit-perfect playback, is it optimal for me to go with ASIO or WASAPI, or nothing at all, using the uDac2?  Being that the uDac2 converts at 24/96, how do I need to setup my soundcard to match everything up properly?

I've been reading up on 44.1 vs. 192k, etc. and honestly it all confuses me.  Maybe I just don't grasp that information very well.  All I know is that I want everything to stream at a consistent, compatible level the whole way through the chain.

If providing me links to clearer explanations of all this is the best way, please do so.  Otherwise, feel free to suggest your findings and/or preferences with this type of setup.

Thanks a bunch, fellas.

Apr 6, 2011 at 1:59 PM Post #2 of 4
Use WASAPI with whichever media player you wish.  Don't turn on any resampling DSPs and what not, these reduce fidelity and color the sound.  You don't need to worry about those arguments concerning 44.1 vs. x higher sample rate, in fact, just ignore them.  Since you are using SPDIF output, and without any DSPs on, 96kHz audio will reach your uDac as 96kHz, 48kHz as 48kHz, etc.  So everything matches up fine.