Why can't you have battery powered electrostatic amps?
Mar 4, 2006 at 4:10 PM Post #2 of 83

kevin gilmore

Señor Stax. Señor MAXX.
Can Jam '10 Organizer
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
2,863
Likes
516
There are already 3 portable electrostatic amps. Two from stax and one from
koss.

Soon there will be four
biggrin.gif
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 4:30 PM Post #3 of 83

ServinginEcuador

Founder of the Head-Fi Pay-to-Post Program.
Joined
Sep 1, 2002
Posts
8,384
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevin gilmore
Soon there will be four
biggrin.gif



Oh no. He's at it again......and I can't wait!
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 4:53 PM Post #5 of 83

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
A battery is just an alternative power source from using the mains. Anything can be battery-powered, as long as the battery is big enough.
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 6:03 PM Post #7 of 83

bangraman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Posts
10,275
Likes
30
Quote:

Originally Posted by Chri5peed
A battery is just an alternative power source from using the mains. Anything can be battery-powered, as long as the battery is big enough.



Well duh
rolleyes.gif


Quote:

8~12 AA's?


 
Mar 4, 2006 at 6:41 PM Post #8 of 83

rickcr42

Are YOU talkin' to me?
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
13,874
Likes
14
Quote:

8~12 AA's?


more like a voltage multiplier,an couple of example of which can be seen over at Steve Bench's web page.

Take any 12 volt battery,connect it to a "backwards" 12VAC transformer and you will get 120 volts out (instead of the normal use where 120 VAC in=12 VAC out).Use diode voltage multiplier network on this and you are in the 300VDC range and the only question becomes how much current you need to go with that voltage "upper"
wink.gif
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 8:11 PM Post #9 of 83

Carl

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 11, 2005
Posts
5,368
Likes
16
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevin gilmore
There are already 3 portable electrostatic amps. Two from stax and one from
koss.

Soon there will be four
biggrin.gif



You never cease to impress Mr Gilmore.


Something with a similar form factor to the SRM-001 would be sweet, hint hint.
biggrin.gif
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 8:53 PM Post #10 of 83

Chri5peed

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Posts
3,611
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by bangraman
Well duh
rolleyes.gif



It might be obvious to us, but I know a lot of people who don't think things through logically.
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 9:38 PM Post #11 of 83

sango

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 3, 2005
Posts
109
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevin gilmore
There are already 3 portable electrostatic amps. Two from stax and one from
koss.

Soon there will be four
biggrin.gif




2 from Stax!? Have i missed something here? Tell me quick, maybe i must cancel the order i have on audiocubes..
biggrin.gif

//A
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 11:01 PM Post #12 of 83

trbl

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Posts
107
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by rickcr42
Take any 12 volt battery,connect it to a "backwards" 12VAC transformer and you will get 120 volts out


Err, no. Transformers work with alternating current, not DC. So you'd need to convert the battery's DC voltage to an AC signal first, probably by adding an oscillator driven transistor switch to create a square wave. Voila, a "switching" DC-DC power supply.
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 11:23 PM Post #13 of 83

rickcr42

Are YOU talkin' to me?
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
13,874
Likes
14
even better :

http://www.paia.com/phantsch.gif

Lower voltages but ingenious just the same

the "real deal" ready for prime time audio :


http://members.aol.com/sbench101/Bat...s/BattAmp.gif/

but I DO have a transformer/diode voltage multiplier right here within three feet of my person that uses a nine volt battery to get 120 volts using a simple transformer/diode circuit.Call it a "zapper" for the unsuspecting.not enough current to do any harm but enough voltage to give someone a wakeup call
very_evil_smiley.gif
 
Mar 4, 2006 at 11:35 PM Post #14 of 83

OK Johansen

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Posts
38
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by sango
2 from Stax!? Have i missed something here? Tell me quick, maybe i must cancel the order i have on audiocubes..
biggrin.gif

//A



I guess you could say two since there was an SR-001 before the SR-001MK2
(Mark 2).
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top