Which IEM should I get?
May 12, 2007 at 9:40 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 21

TheNew007

Banned
I've been using the Altec Lansing im716 for about 9 months now and although they provide excellent detail, I find its bass quite lacking. Does anybody know of any IEMs that 1)Provide excellent detail 2)More bass than im716 and 3)provide the same if not better isolation than im716? My price range is between $200 and $350 CAD. Feel free to add any suggestions.
Thanks

May 12, 2007 at 9:48 PM Post #2 of 21
May 12, 2007 at 9:51 PM Post #3 of 21
If you don't like the im716 you might want to look into shure IEM's or the triple.fi 5 pro

P.S.
are you going to sell your im716's? because I might be interested.

May 12, 2007 at 9:58 PM Post #4 of 21
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheNew007 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I've been using the Altec Lansing im716 for about 9 months now and although they provide excellent detail, I find its bass quite lacking. Does anybody know of any IEMs that 1)Provide excellent detail 2)More bass than im716 and 3)provide the same if not better isolation than im716? My price range is between $200 and $350 CAD. Feel free to add any suggestions.
Thanks

What source, amp, and tips are you currently using?

Looking through # 1 - 3, you're only missing #2 in the iM716 right? Have you tried different tips than the stock tips? An amp will get the most out of it.

May 12, 2007 at 10:53 PM Post #5 of 21
Yes, if I decide to buy another IEM then I will surely sell the im716. However, since I haven't decided on what to buy yet I think we should hold off abit on that conversation.

BrokenWallet, my source is a Cowon iAudio x5 with no amp attached and the tip I use is the Shure medium sized soft flange. The reason why I didn't get an amp is because I want my system to be portable and it's a hassle jogging around with the amp rocking back and forth. However if someone has invented a nano-amp then I'd be happy to take a look.

May 12, 2007 at 11:07 PM Post #7 of 21