Which connector is best?
Jul 4, 2021 at 6:47 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

EdgeOfSound

Head-Fier
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to the IEM game and noticed that there's a whole bunch of different connectors being used on the IEMs e.g. MMCX, 0.78mm 2 pin, QDC etc. Why are there so many different connectors? Which is the most popular at the moment? The different formats all seem to be widely used and after looking at product releases I'm not sure there any pattern to say that the manufacturers are converging on one.

Jul 4, 2021 at 7:23 AM Post #2 of 11
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to the IEM game and noticed that there's a whole bunch of different connectors being used on the IEMs e.g. MMCX, 0.78mm 2 pin, QDC etc. Why are there so many different connectors? Which is the most popular at the moment? The different formats all seem to be widely used and after looking at product releases I'm not sure there any pattern to say that the manufacturers are converging on one.

MMCX and 2 pin are the commonest for the budget/midfi segment.

MMCX is kinda universal, and there's only one way to connect it (compared to 2 pin connectors which some folks may connect in the wrong way and reverse the polarity, resulting in an out of phase music). However, MMCX comes in various quality, from cheap lousy types to more expensive premium connectors. A lot of us face issues with cheap MMCX connectors in that they become too loose with repeated cable changing. As a result, the IEM starts spinning like a windvane after repeated changes sometimes, and sound cuts out or the IEM drops out of the cable. Hence for MMCX type IEMs, it is recommended to not change cables too often, just leave a preferred cable on and call it a day.