What to listen for while auditioning high end computer speakers like MM-1 and A5+?
Jul 6, 2013 at 10:45 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

rebe

New Head-Fier
I'm currently auditioning two sets of computer speakers, the B&W MM-1 and the Audioengine A5+. This is my first time auditioning audio gear this high-end, and I'm not entirely sure what all to listen for. I was able to get the MM-1 for about half price (open box at Best Buy), and I got the A5+ refurbished, with the result that the normally less expensive A5+ actually cost me $60 more. 

So far, my main impressions are that the MM-1 are better on the high end and the A5+ are a better on the low, but I've been surprised how well the MM-1 hold up on the low end given their tiny size. Both are plenty powerful for my small-ish home office. The MM-1 has a nice, clean, warm sound to my untrained ears, while the A5+ are a bit more harsh but fuller on the low frequencies. 

For a track like "Doin' it Right" off the new Daft Punk, the A5+ win, but for things like jazz, the Velvet Underground, or the National I prefer the MM-1. 

Overall, I'm pretty sure I will keep the MM-1 for their overall performance, plus additional goodies like: power button easy to reach, automatic sleep mode, built in DAC and headphone port, plus taking up much, much less space on my desk. But is there anything else I should consider or listen for? 

Thanks for your help.

Jul 6, 2013 at 5:22 PM Post #2 of 8
Ugh, I don't know, now I'm leaning toward keeping the A5+ just because they can get so much louder than the MM-1, and sometimes I just want to rock out at my desk!!!

Jul 8, 2013 at 11:13 AM Post #4 of 8
Keep the MM-1 as it has its own build-in DAC with better highs, and the sound won't change with a different desktop/laptop setup.  Bowers and Wilkins in general gear towards very good high and lows for their stuff across their product line.

Jul 8, 2013 at 4:20 PM Post #5 of 8