what to choose!?!?!
Apr 7, 2010 at 3:05 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

kaneman890

Head-Fier
im looking to get a new pair of over the ear headphones in the $100 range +/- $30 if from crutchfield. and im kinda new to headphones and what to look for. i listen to mostly pretty heavy metal, so im looking for something that handles loud double bass and heavy riffs
L3000.gif

here is what i've come up with:
-SENNHEISER HD280 / hd448 seem like they are good, but what is the difference between them?
-M-Audio Q40
-Denon AH-D1000.

any and all help is appreciated.

and i am pretty good with electronics and the mechanics of things from building computers and cars, so if someone could just explain what to look for and what things do that would help to

Thanks, Kane

Apr 7, 2010 at 3:33 AM Post #5 of 24
Quote:

Originally Posted by juanharu4913 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I like my k518's for rock/metal/hip hop
Cords a little short, Id buy an extender.

i was looking and found alot of positive stuff on those, how durable are those? they look a little thin to me and ill probably be carrying them around alot.

Apr 8, 2010 at 12:59 AM Post #9 of 24
From what i know the sennheisers 448 are used more for bassy music, if you are a bassyhead...go for them.

Apr 8, 2010 at 1:18 AM Post #10 of 24
Quote:

Originally Posted by kaneman890 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
i listen to mostly pretty heavy metal, so im looking for something that handles loud double bass and heavy riffs

Grados are meant for rock! SR60 is pretty nice headphone to start.

Apr 8, 2010 at 1:47 AM Post #11 of 24
Quote:

Originally Posted by VALIENTE /img/forum/go_quote.gif

x2

Apr 8, 2010 at 2:03 AM Post #12 of 24
Quote:

Originally Posted by VALIENTE /img/forum/go_quote.gif

They rock on metal also! Great cans with balanced mids.

Apr 8, 2010 at 2:47 AM Post #13 of 24
from what i see the sr60 is open air which means that is will let alot of sound out right? if so i cant do that
frown.gif