What makes piano sound so hard to reproduce?
Dec 20, 2012 at 6:41 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 213

matti620

100+ Head-Fier
It's something I heard and which I can attest to with my HD650. Piano just doesn't sound anywhere close to real. What are the special characteristics of piano sound which make it hard to reproduce?

Dec 20, 2012 at 8:22 AM Post #2 of 213
Unless it's a binaural recording or you use some other kind of DSP it's not going to sound real on any headphone.

Dec 20, 2012 at 1:16 PM Post #3 of 213
I agree that it's the recordings that suck not the transducer. I was appalled when I first got good equipment and heard what sounded like severe clipping on some Nora Jones songs (mainly from her early Come Away With Me album). The piano note attacks sound harsh and really badly distorted. But it does that at any volume, so it's not my equipment clipping. I'm no expert, but it sounds to me like someone wasn't watching the levels on their mic (and they were probably using just one).

Dec 20, 2012 at 1:38 PM Post #4 of 213
I disagree. I listen to a lot of classical piano music, and it's some of the hardest sounds to reproduce accurately. I use piano music as one of the main ways to judge the quality of speakers. it's devilishly difficult to get right, and there's not much hope of tweaking your transducers to do it if they don't do it rigt off the bat. I think I know some of the reasons why....

First and foremost is the dynamics. Sound pressure can go from zero to sixty and back down again instantaneously. A hard hit on a key creates a big percussive hit out of the note. Headphones have a tendency to swallow up and flatten out big percussive strikes like that, and speakers can mush right over it. It can make an acoustic piano sound like an electronic keyboard with evened out note weights. Or, the pressure can come through without the note being behind it creating a thumping in your ears. i don't know what causes that, but I've heard it in some headphones.