Wanted: SRC for foobar 0.83
May 11, 2009 at 10:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

dubai2000

Head-Fier
Hi,

I am new to foobar 0.83 and would like to use SCR for it. Unfortunately the 'proper SRC version is no longer available and I was wondering if anybody might still have this on his computer. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Wolfram

May 12, 2009 at 12:09 AM Post #2 of 11
SRC is available for the current (much more recent) version of Foobar2000, which many people consider to be superior to the old version. In blind tests, my wife (who has very sensitive ears) could not tell the difference between the two versions, however. I'm using the newer version because it supports better plug-ins, in my opinion.

By the way, I think it is generally good to avoid resampling, unless the hardware you are using resamples (and doesn't do a very good job of it, like many sound cards).

May 12, 2009 at 6:11 PM Post #3 of 11
SRC also uses a lot of CPU. The system I was using back then really slowed down when SRC was running. I don't imagine it would matter on a music only system. I thought there might be some sound improvement, but it was totally outweighed by the system hitches.

I only run Mac now, and did not keep that SRC from then.

May 13, 2009 at 2:16 PM Post #4 of 11
Well, I am just curious to find out myself how much the sound might change with SRC
wink.gif

May 17, 2009 at 4:26 PM Post #5 of 11
Got the files - thanks a lot!!!!! Have done a quick comparison to the current foobar/SRC version. To my ears the older version sounds a bit more three dimensional and somehow clearer - of course YMMV.

Cheers,
Wolfram

May 18, 2009 at 6:58 AM Post #7 of 11
Been using the 9.6.3 version i think and it sounds clinical, imaging is more forward than the 0.8.3 but the 0.8.3 version is much smoother and sounds more musical and refined, and very analog like with a better soundstage.