W5000+Tube amp Vs. Stax 3050A?
Sep 12, 2008 at 3:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

DNT

100+ Head-Fier
Hello fellow head-fiers,
I really need some inputs from you guys now. I recently got myself a pair of W5000, which was supposed to be an "upgrade" from my previous HD650. But at the moment, I am ampless because I sold my entire previous rig. I've been reading great reviews about Stax so I wanted to try a system, preferably the 3050A system. But in order to do so I would have to sell my W5000, which I like a lot, because I'm a starving highschool student.
frown.gif
If I don't acquire the Stax system then I will have some money to buy myself a nice tube amp to match the W5000 (I'm thinking of Darkvoice 337 or similar). So what do you think, please give me some opinions on this since I never owned a Stax system before and am very curious about it. But if the W5000 and a nice tube amp could sound better than Stax then I'd be happy to keep it. What should I do now?
confused_face(1).gif

Thank you so much,
Best regards.

Sep 12, 2008 at 5:48 AM Post #2 of 13
Thats a tough question.
The W5000 is a much wanted item, if you realy like it but sell it now and want to get it again in a few years, then it might be a hard task to get hold of it again.
IMHO the effect of a good amp is often much overrated here. Yes, it will give you a better performance, but it's more like gaining 2% extra and not a night and day difference like some people claim. So maybe getting a Stax SRS 2050-II for try out instead of a tube amp might be a good idea. If the Stax leaves you unimpressed then you still could sell it with a very little loss. If the Stax goddess seduces you and leads you to the light of electrostatic goodness and you can't stand that muddy dynamic sound anymore, then sell off Stax SRS 2050-II and W5000 and go SRS 3050-II or SRS 4040-II.