Vinyl questions. How to identify the cartridge, and is the stylus upside down?
Aug 7, 2014 at 12:31 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

MindsMirror

1000+ Head-Fier
My roommate has a turntable and he asked me if I could try to set it up correctly. I've never done it before but I watched a few videos and it doesn't seem too complicated. I just have a couple of questions.

First, how do I identify what the cartridge is? It has the Audio Technica logo on the front, and it's yellow as you can see in the picture below. I don't see any serial or model numbers. Would they be on the top, covered by the head?

Second, this may be a dumb question, but is the stylus upside down?

I know the image is bad, I don't have a better camera so I also drew a picture of what the stylus looks like.

The little boat shaped bit on the end is facing away from the vinyl surface. Is that what is meant to be in the groove? Or, is it oriented correctly, but is the skinny piece (connecting the boat to the long part) meant to stick through so that it is in the groove? It looks like the skinny piece goes through a hole in the long piece, and it could possibly be pushed through further so that the boat is flush with the long piece and the skinny piece sticks out the other side toward the vinyl surface. Or, is it just worn down completely so there is no longer a point? Pictures of styli on Google seem to have a much finer point, which is why I though this one is messed up somehow.

Please forgive my terrible terminology. I know 'boat' and 'long or skinny piece' are surely not the correct terms but I don't know what else to call them.

Aug 7, 2014 at 7:46 PM Post #2 of 5

"long skinny thing" = tonearm (very roughly, whatever holds the laser head in an optical disc player)
"boat" = cartridge (very roughly, both the laser head and the DAC in an optical disc player) ; needle must be facing the vinyl