Valhalla 2 vs Vali 2
May 11, 2016 at 2:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

JBassFox

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone. I couldn't really find too many details on the differences and advantages between the two, so I'm asking for your help.

I'm still pretty new to higher end audio. I have a pair of DT990s, and it's finally time to get an amp and DAC to pair with it. After debating whether I needed a Bifrost or Modi, I decided the Modi 2 Uber is more than enough for me at this time. But what amp? I'm pretty stuck on tube amps to tame down the highs on my headphones, though I'm not sensitive to it at all, so the Vali 2 and Valhalla 2 are the ones I'm looking at (unless you have any other suggestions). How different do they sound? Is the $200 worth the difference? What about the Lyr? I do have some lower impedance cans, but will also be looking into higher ones in the future.

Also, if it helps at all, this will mostly be attached to my laptop for music or my PS4 for gaming and movies.

Thank you all for always being so helpful.

May 11, 2016 at 11:42 PM Post #2 of 3
Hi everyone. I couldn't really find too many details on the differences and advantages between the two, so I'm asking for your help.

Some comments I've found that might prove interesting. Lots of opinions.  BTW I have neither the Vali 2 nor the Vahalla 2.  I'm using the discontinued Vali 1.

>  Vali 2 leaves you alone. Vali 2 is more neutral for better or worse. Vali 1 has a touch of warmth in the mid and lower mids and the treble is kind of steely, grainy, and  slightly emphasized.  Vali 2 doesn't have that "haunting" or "rich" tube sound.