V-Moda Vibe hype: am I missing something?
Feb 18, 2007 at 10:51 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

Drover

New Head-Fier
Let's start with the usual qualifications:
  1. This is the first pair of in-ear headphones I've owned so I'm new to this.
  2. I have not listened to other high-quality in-ear phones for a basis of comparison.
  3. Yes, I have "burned them in" for nearly 100 hours even as I remain skeptical of the whole concpet.
  4. Yes, they are "sealed" as I listen to them.
I bought the V-Moda Vibes because I wanted something portable that would fit in my school backpack with my 38 books and computer and would not break. In addition to the portability factor, I bought them based on a combination of price and positive feedback from both tech-type magazines and "regular Joe" users. I have found them to be a mixed bag. Maybe my expectations were a bit high, because I have to say I'm not all that impressed overall.

First, I find the high bass/low midrange to be overdriven and muddled. (Maybe this is part of the "curve" that is built into these things?) Fortunately they do respond well to equalization, and that portion of the frequency response range can be cleaned up with the right EQ settings. Still, I'd rather not have to devote processing power to EQ just to correct what I consider a headphone deficiency, or at a minimum, a headphone peculiarity.

Second, I'm a little disappointed with the bass overall. My basis of comparison is a pair of Koss-built Radio Shack Pro 35A over-ear headphones that I bought for $30. The bass on the 35As seems more responsive and much cleaner throughout the low frequency ranges and delivers a better overall "punch" without being excessively "bass-y." Surely some of this can be attributed to driver size, but was I out of line to expect a pair of $100 in-ear headphones to at least come close to approximating the bass response of a pair of $30 over-ear headphones?