USB external sound card recommendations w/ a DAC & digital-output. ($0-$150)
May 4, 2011 at 2:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

kurt_fire

100+ Head-Fier
Hi guys I am looking for advice in achieving the best 2-channel audio possible from my newly purchased Windows 7 PC.

I don't think my new computer can output digital audio, only analog. It has a Sandy Bridge Intel i5 with integrated audio. Probably not the best in terms of sound quality. I'm sure I'll be using Foobar as my primary audio player. I've never used Windows 7 before, but I hope it is easier to set up than XP with ASIO and all the jazz.

I think what I need is an external USB sound card. It needs to have a good quality built-in DAC and be able to output digital (SPDIF) sound. The reason for both of these features is because I'm not entirely sure if I'll have this hooked up to my 1972 Marantz 2230 receiver (which has no DAC) or my newer Pioneer Elite SC-25 receiver (which has a good DAC). I would obviously be using the USB sound card's analog outputs to the Marantz and it's digital output to the Pioneer. If the sound card could output high-res audio that'd be a bonus. I'm sure high-res would sound great through my Pioneer.

I'm going to say my budget is $0-150. But if something is vastly superior and not much more I could make the sacrifice and spend a little more.

Thanks.

May 7, 2011 at 8:36 AM Post #2 of 5
The Creative Sound Blaster X-FI HD will do everything you asked for and more. I use one as an interface between Home Theater pre/pro and Dell Inspiron 14, running 64 bit Windows 7 . I use the unit for USB to S/PDIF, analog to ADC, and  USB to DAC functions.  Listening to iTunes downloads from PC to HT using either X-FI HD's USB to S/PDIF function, or USB to DAC, music sounds as good as the same material sourced from my SACD player. I think you'd be very pleased with one.

May 7, 2011 at 4:28 PM Post #3 of 5