USB DAC on same hub with hard drives
May 8, 2015 at 11:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

bgentry

100+ Head-Fier
I've been wondering for a while about what would happen if you put a USB DAC on the same hub with one or more hard drives and then did heavy reads and writes with the drive or drives.  I tried this recently with my Macbook Pro, with USB2 ports and a Sound Blaster external "sound card".  After a minute or two, I got a complete disconnect of the DAC.  With repeated experiments I was always able to make the DAC disconnect (no sound) but sometimes it would come back after I stopped the drive activity.

Fast forward a little bit and I've been investigating USB 3 options for my Macbook Pro (2011 model that only has two USB 2.0 ports and ZERO USB 3 ports).  I've found a Thunderbolt to USB 3 (and ESATA) adapter from Kanex that gets good reviews, so I ordered one and started playing with it today.

I've been using this adapter (it only has one USB 3 port) plugged into a USB 3 hub (by Anker), along with 3 external drives.  One of the drives has been copying files to and from itself for many many hours now, chugging along at a pretty good speed.  The other drives have variously been read and written with large files for dozens of gigabytes at a time.  I've also used a drive speed testing utility (Black Magic Design Disk Test) to hit all three drives at different times.

For several hours now I've been listening to a Schiit Modi 2 plugged into that same USB hub with no audio issues at all!

A few minutes ago I realized that I've been using only USB 3 drives.  So I just plugged in an older USB 2 drive and started doing a large transfer to that drive.  Meanwhile the other drive continues it's mega huge copy.  Then I fired up the disk testing program and aimed it at the third drive.  Still the audio plays with no problems at all.