Upgrading from Sony MDR-XB950n1. General Input / Recommendations Sought.
Mar 30, 2021 at 11:44 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

thisusernamesucks

New Head-Fier
So, I've been using the Sony MDR-XB950n1 headphones for a couple of years now and am looking to either upgrade or buy another pair. I wear these headphones for 8 hours at a time in a noisy manufacturing environment where I am assaulted by the constant drone of fans and regular intervals of higher-frequency vacuum-feeders and servo-motors. So, noise-cancellation efficiency and comfort are my primary concerns. I have never messed with CODECS and DACs and therefore couldn't begin to assess the relative merits of one pair over another based on such feature support, nor do I figure such data is really relevant to my needs.

The only pair of headphones I've tried in my search for a replacement are the WH-XB900n. While I found them to be sufficiently comfortable, I was disappointed by the noise cancellation while I was on calls: I could hear my own voice as well as background noise through the speakers, even though I had ANC on max. No settings I manipulated through Sony's headphone app remedied this, and I could find no explanation online for why the background noise and my voice should be audible to me through the speakers only while on calls. I figured that the XB900n would be superior to the XB950n1, but in my experience they weren't; so now I am apprehensive to select a different model since I can't be guaranteed that the newer is necessarily better, and since I have no idea what technical issue I was experiencing responsible for the phenomenon of atmospheric noise being emitted from the cans into my ears while on calls. If any of you know what causes this specific issue, please elucidate me.