UM2s vs UE 5 Pros vs E5cs - Which is the Best IEM to Listen to Metal for under $500
Sep 8, 2006 at 12:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

LDMES

100+ Head-Fier
I am interested in finding out which IEM Headphones would be the best ones for me. As I am kind of new to this (ie I've been using $20 cheapies for as long as I can remember,) and could use some advise. I am hoping that the investment in a quality pair of IEMs will allow me to listen to my music at a level that is a little lower than FULL Volume, which will save my hearing, and still allow me to enjoy my music without the outside noise compromising the experience. I guess I basically blare my music to drown everything else out.
That being said I may at some point invest in an iPod but for now I want a pair of IEMs to work with my Treo and pTunes. I also want to be able to use them with my laptop when on a plane, so I'm not looking for the smaller Treo plug, just a standard plug. I can use my Treo stereo adapter with that device.
I have read a number of reviews, but most people are listing jazz, classical, and lighter music that they test their IEMs with. I'm looking for input from people who listen to Hard Rock, and Metal and can tell me what their impressions are. I listen to a wide variety of music, not all loud and aggressive. While traveling I usually prefer more mellow music, but at the gym I need the adrenaline rush.
Some of the music I have on my Treo includes:
Lamb of God
Pantera
Metallica
Slayer
Voivod
Godsmack
Shadows Fall
Mastadon
Black Label Society
Staind
Dave Matthews Band
The Tragically Hip
and more
I have been considering the following Headphones:
Westone UM2
UE Super.fi 5 Pro
Shure E5c