ULTRASONE EDITION 9 IS INDEED THAT GOOD!
Nov 6, 2007 at 4:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 26

jlingo

500+ Head-Fier
I have been using Ultrasone Edition 9 since July 2007, experimented with different combinations possible. I believe I have passed that Hype New Toy Syndrome. So my comments will be more genuine, fair, and square.
biggrin.gif

Basically I find that Ultrasone Edition 9 is indeed an A:MAZING CAN. It is the best ALL ROUNDER headphone that I have ever heard in my life. Please remember, ALL ROUNDER means the headphone must sound good with pretty much any music genre you throw in unlike some headphones only good for a particular music genre.

The problem with Ultrason Edition 9 is this: with a non matching system it will sound very thin on the top, shrill, with recessed midrange, bloated bass, 2 dimensonal, without surround feeling nor depth. As a result, UE9 sound stuffy and boring. Yes I HAVE HEARD THIS BAD SIDE OF UE9 MYSELF. UE9 really needs an amp that excels very well with depth as that really helps filling up the whole ambiance detail such as the air and the warmth.

Once your system is matching superbly then, it would be very hard to go back to a regular headphone for this reason: The sound of Ultrasone is SO FULL, SO RICH, ROOM RICH, as if you are listening to a pair of speakers in the room accompanied with a high quality of Sub. UE-9 is superbly detailed and able to throw an ambience information at 360degrees angle. This feeling is really becoming very ADDICTING. I have to say it?s very hard to go back to regular headphone after being spoiled with Ultrasone Edition 9.