Uk source for resistors and caps
Mar 12, 2010 at 11:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

chum_2000_uk

100+ Head-Fier
Forgive me if this has been asked many times before, but where do you guys in the UK buy components like resistors and caps from?

I'm just getting into DIY, and will shortly be building a Jaycar amp. I built a cmoy a few weeks back and got all the resistors and caps from RS. I went for the Vishay MRS25 1% 0.6W caps I believe. Was this an ok choice? What are you guys using and from where?

Any UK based recommendations and pointers would be much appreciated!

Thanks guys

Mar 13, 2010 at 8:26 AM Post #2 of 11
hey another fellow uk headfier
biggrin.gif

Yeah this went the same for me. I started out with rs, and now I'm building an M3 + S11.
You can have a look at farnwell and rapid, though none of my part is from there
For some unknown reason that I dont know (that's why it's unknown), no UK based distributor have caps and resistors and stuffs for my current project so I had to try my luck mostly at mouser. They have stock for nearly everything, I just had to order the transformer and 1 cap from rs as mouser is out of stock.
And one great thing is, nearly everything in mouser is cheaper than in rs. Plus if you order above 50 pounds there'll be no shipping charge. Their warehouse is in the US but they say it'll only take 1-3 days for international shipping (dispatched on the same day), which is nearly the same as ordering something within UK.
Digikey is a bit more costly and their site looks ugly so I just use them for reference.
One last note: both digikey and mouser also have their price in sterling so you wouldnt have to mind about the exchange rate
biggrin.gif

Hope this helps

Mar 13, 2010 at 9:19 AM Post #3 of 11
Quote:

Originally Posted by tranhieu /img/forum/go_quote.gif
hey another fellow uk headfier
biggrin.gif

Yeah this went the same for me. I started out with rs, and now I'm building an M3 + S11.