Tube Amp'd set for Techno/Rock
Jul 25, 2009 at 8:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

mewrei

Head-Fier
Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to the audiophile headphone arena, so asking the experts seems to be the most logical standpoint.

I've picked out 3-4 different headsets based on information I've been reading about them throughout the forums, but I'm certainly open to new suggestions. I'd prefer to stay in the sub-$400 range if possible.

I'm looking at:
Sennheiser HD595's
Sennheiser HD600's
Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro's (the 250 ohm variant)
Grado SR325i's

I'm also willing to do mods on the cans if it'll improve performance beyond my price range. I'd also prefer a set that won't fall apart on me (physically or electrically) because, like I said, I like to play around with things and these may be used to work on amps and such I work on in the future (albeit I'll be slapping those on an oscilloscope before trying them on my headphones).

Thanks for your help guys.

Jul 26, 2009 at 5:17 PM Post #2 of 12
I'm leaning towards the Beyerdynamic DT 880's (non-Pro variant, for comfort reasons, unless there's a compelling reason to utilize the Pro variant).

Given the amplifier source, is there a significant difference between the 250 ohm and the 600 ohm versions?

Jul 27, 2009 at 9:38 AM Post #3 of 12
forget about the Sr325i for attenuated highs, with a decent amp it'd be either HD600/650 or DT880 (from your list). The 600 version is said to be the better one, but it considerably more expensive as you can only find these with the Manufaktur program on the Beyer website. Possibly the coolest headphone function around, but pricey.

Jul 27, 2009 at 6:06 PM Post #4 of 12
Quote:

Originally Posted by mewrei /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I tend to enjoy the extra bit of bass too (not excessive though, but the capable handling of bass is nice in techno, specifically The Prodigy and Leftfield).