Tube Amp Servicing Saftey?
Mar 6, 2006 at 5:01 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

megawzrd

500+ Head-Fier
Any tube amp gurus out there?

Are there any books, instructional videos out there that teach the proper safety methods of tube amp service and repair? Other than by trade or under the guidance of a seasoned professional how would someone learn this?

I have had a pignose gv40 guitar tube amp for about 5 years now and I was never really completely satisfied but it worked for my needs. I figured I could always tweak it since it is a basic tube amp design...and that was my idea 5 years ago. Fast forward...I have replaced the speaker with a vintage eminence and I have replaced the cheap stock 12ax7 preamp tubes with the drop in 5751 NOS which are the tamed 12ax7's to smooth it out. Now I am moving closer to the sound I am searching for...she sings nicely now.

I have come across some mods and some small tweaks but of course all of the mods and tweaks carry the "high voltage' disclaimer associated with servicing tube amps.

I would first off like to change out the cheapo stock 6L6 output tubes to something a little higher quality. I understand that changing these output tubes requires biasing to set it up properly. Which means opening up the chassis and knowing the dangers inherent.

I would like to know how to safely work on my tube amp (before just settling on paying someone to do the work for me). I would like to start with biasing, then go into tweaking some of the circuits to accomidate some different tubes say 12at7's (changing/adding resistors). Any advice is much appreciated.

Oh yeah I think this is post 100...woot
biggrin.gif

Mar 6, 2006 at 5:15 AM Post #2 of 6
http://www6.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=167374

wow what a coincidence...posted right before me.