TREAD problem (solved and final pictures)
Jul 12, 2007 at 4:44 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

justhavingfun

500+ Head-Fier
I just populated the Tangentsoft TREAD PS with AMVECO toroidal transformer (12V + 12V) to give me 24V but I am not getting much DC voltage between TP1 & TP3 when I applied the 120V AC voltage
frown.gif
. It only registers 0.08V DC from multimeter. Does anybody have any idea what I did wrong? I am going to post some pictures later. This is my first attempt to build the PS but I guess I did something wrong
frown.gif

Jul 12, 2007 at 7:05 AM Post #3 of 15
Don't see any obvious problems.
How about a picture of the bottom?

(very little solder has wicked through to the top side of the component leads so I have to wonder......)

Jul 12, 2007 at 7:50 AM Post #4 of 15
Did you check the voltage out of the transformer? About the toroid what series is that? Its hard to tell from the picture but of the Amveco I am aware of black and violet to hot. red and yellow to common. Is that how its hooked up? The secondaries look correct red and brown together. green and blue out.

Jul 12, 2007 at 8:00 AM Post #5 of 15
MisterX: I will try to reflow all the points again to be sure and try it again. Thanks for the tip.

heatmizer: I have tried different combination with same result. But first, I followed exactly according to the manufacture's instruction.

Little late for tonight but I will try tomorrow again to repair.

Jul 12, 2007 at 12:41 PM Post #6 of 15
Quote:

Originally Posted by justhavingfun /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I just populated the Tangentsoft TREAD PS with AMVECO toroidal transformer (12V + 12V) to give me 24V but I am not getting much DC voltage between TP1 & TP3 when I applied the 120V AC voltage
frown.gif
. It only registers 0.08V DC from multimeter. Does anybody have any idea what I did wrong? I am going to post some pictures later. This is my first attempt to build the PS but I guess I did something wrong
frown.gif