Total Noob to Recabling [my KSC75]
Jun 15, 2009 at 1:43 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

Thrashingshrimp

100+ Head-Fier
So, on a sudden impulse, and since my KSC75 just died due to the cable, I have decided to recable these suckers into something much better. So I'm getting all excited here, looking up parts and stuff, when it hit me.

I have no idea what I'm doing
confused_face_2.gif

So I need to teach myself how to solder stuff right? My dad says he has a kit somewhere in the basement with "everything I need". But I need to know what sort of parts and stuff I need.

I've been searching on Head-Fi, but I'm still clueless. I need a cable, a 75 ohm resistor, and a jack right? What kind of stuff would you guys recommend to me? And also, I'm leaving on vacation soon, so I would prefer to buy from my local Ratshack, or from somewhere with fast shipping.

Is there a tutorial I could look for, or some sort of place where I can read up on some more info. I cracked open the KSC75, and I see four wires, a red, a green, and two copperish ones. What do they mean? When I look for a cable online, some come with 7 strands, some come with a giant single one. How would I go about recabling with these cables then?

I know I sound like a noob, because I AM one. I'm oping you guys could help in any way. And please don't tell me to give up
beerchug.gif

Jun 15, 2009 at 2:31 AM Post #2 of 15
You don't need a 75ohm resistor. Just a replacement cable and a plug, not a jack.

There're a lot of Koss' recabling tutorials out there, just do some search and you'll find one.

Those 4 wires are pretty clear, red for R+, green for L+, both the orange ones for ground, one for each driver.