TOP 3 IEMS OF THE 3 FREQUENCIES
Oct 7, 2009 at 2:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

Qonad

100+ Head-Fier
Greetings all!
smile_phones.gif

Of the 3 different frequencies(lows, mids & highs) and soundstage, which iems do you guys rate as the top three IEM from each group? Lets all contribute our opinions.

I am new to this, so my rankings are..:

Lows:
1. Sennheiser IE8
2. JVC FX500
3. FutureSonics Atrio

Mids:
1. Shure SE530
2. Not sure
3. Not sure

Highs:
~Not sure.

Soundstage:
1. IE8?
2. Not sure
3. Not sure

Have fun
smile_phones.gif

Oct 7, 2009 at 3:05 PM Post #3 of 24
LOW: IE8
MID: SE530
HIGH: ER4P

Of course, this is very subjective and unless the frequencies are balanced as a whole, the IEM may not be all that pleasent to listen to.

It's better to have one that does all frequecies as good as possible...like UM3X
wink.gif

Oct 7, 2009 at 3:52 PM Post #4 of 24
HIGHS:
1. ER4P/S
2. CK100
3. RE0

MIDS:
1. CK100
2. UM3X
3. CUSTOM 3, SE530

LOWS:
1. SF5EB
2. ATH_CKS70
3. IE8

Oct 7, 2009 at 5:15 PM Post #7 of 24
HIGHS: Triple-Fi 10

Oct 7, 2009 at 6:09 PM Post #10 of 24
Can't do it for top-tier universals (haven't tried the SE530/TF10), but I can do it for sub-$50 in-ears
wink.gif

Lows:
1. Nuforce NE-6/NE-7M
2. Maximo Im-590
3. Radiopaq Jazz

Mids:
1. Soundmagic PL50
2. Maximo Im-590
3. Nuforce NE-6/NE-7M

Highs:
1. ADDIEMs
2. Meelec Ai-M6
3. H-D RE2

Oct 7, 2009 at 7:50 PM Post #11 of 24
I haven't used enough products to give a full list. I've also used a bunch of buds too which I view in the same category as IEMs, just trading out isolation.

I feel soundstage is very important simply because it is hard to "fix." Frequency response can be EQed, within some limitation. Creating a stage presence with exact location, separate, and physical size are things much harder to adjust.

Bass, Mid, Treble as a whole:
1) Triple.Fi 10
2) Yuin OK1
3) Head Direct RE0