Tips for Silver Bullets
Sep 28, 2010 at 7:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

BobSaysHi

Headphoneus Supremus
Howdy,

I am new to IEMs, and just bought Silver Bullets in the for sale forum. The sound is great.
biggrin.gif
The fit is passable.
redface.gif
Isolation is pretty bad. 
mad.gif

My problem with most tips is that they are too big. My ear canals are really small, so size is an issue. The small tips on the Silver Bullets fit pretty good, but Isolate poorly. On the double flanges that are provided, the inner part is too shallow and the outer part is too big, which makes them uncomfortable. I don't want foam tips because they need replacing too often and take forever to get in.

What would be an alternative to the stock tips?

Sep 29, 2010 at 1:39 PM Post #4 of 17
Can't say about this specific IEM, but I was on a quest for tips after being tortured by what came with my IE8s.

Comply, hate them.

Comply installed backwards, sound better, but uncomfortable.

Modified Shure Olives, didn't sound great, I think removing the tube somehow caused quality problems.  I used them on my Shures for years.  But great isolation and comfort.

Sony Hybrid Tips - They have em at Bestbuy.  They are comfortable and sound good.  I don't like them just because if I get sweaty I get all sorts of seal popping issues.  Plus the isolation is bad.

Monster Supertips - I love them.  I love the gels, I love the foams more.  If baby Jesus used IEMs they would have supertips on them.  haha.  Anyway, thats what I think. 

3-flange Monster tips - I actually think these are more comfortable than the supertips.  The isolation isnt as good and when I get sweaty they pop out.  There also seems to be less room for depth to change why they are in your ear.  If I'm at my desk at work, I'll use these, but generally prefer the supertips.

Hope that helps!

Sep 29, 2010 at 2:55 PM Post #5 of 17