This box between my source & my amp.
May 23, 2006 at 5:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

mathchris

New Head-Fier
It's a receiver! I'm a newbie & I have a few question on how this receiver relates to headphones. I want the receiver there because I have many sources.

Is there any impressive headphone sound modes on receivers now a days?

If so, will those modes translate thru the pre-outs?

If I have 7.1 pre-outs on the receiver, can I ensure only stereo signals will pass out of there into my headphone amp.

Do people always use the pre-outs or sometimes a md/tape output?

I ask because I'm about to buy a Pioneer receiver & a Little Dot 2 headphone amp. This is my entire setup with all sources & 5.1 speakers as well.

May 23, 2006 at 9:16 PM Post #2 of 3
Quote:

Originally Posted by mathchris
It's a receiver! I'm a newbie & I have a few question on how this receiver relates to headphones. I want the receiver there because I have many sources.

If I have 7.1 pre-outs on the receiver, can I ensure only stereo signals will pass out of there into my headphone amp.

I ask because I'm about to buy a Pioneer receiver & a Little Dot 2 headphone amp. This is my entire setup with all sources & 5.1 speakers as well.

Most sources have at least two different outputs. Do yourself a favor and leave out the receiver when connecting your source to the headphone amp, the only thing you're going to do is add clutter. I don't know what type of source you have or which pioneer receiver you're going to get but the dac in the cd player is probably going to be as good as your receiver unless there's some huge disparity in price.

May 23, 2006 at 9:53 PM Post #3 of 3
Quote:

It's a receiver! I'm a newbie & I have a few question on how this receiver relates to headphones. I want the receiver there because I have many sources..