Thinking of buying CIaudio VHP-1
Jul 22, 2005 at 5:14 PM Post #4 of 6
Quote:

Originally Posted by cowby
Thanks and I will have a look.

Actually, I am sending email to Justy of CIAudio and requesting more info and advise.

at the $350 mark you have quite a few other options as well... the Gilmore Lite, M3, PPA, Millet Hybrid, Dynalo to name a few.

Jul 22, 2005 at 5:20 PM Post #5 of 6
thanks man, I am actually a newbie of head-amp and always see the amp you've mentioned many times in this forum.

However, I would like to search their pic and spec from google but no luck and may be I need their full model name. Anyone can provide ?

Jul 22, 2005 at 9:03 PM Post #6 of 6
Quote:

Originally Posted by cowby
thanks man, I am actually a newbie of head-amp and always see the amp you've mentioned many times in this forum.

However, I would like to search their pic and spec from google but no luck and may be I need their full model name. Anyone can provide ?

Below is a photo of CIAudio's VHP-1 headphone amp and VAC-1 power supply (taken at our recent NYC Minis-mini-meet).

MnisMt_VHP1VAC1_1447b.jpg
VHP-1 Headamp + VAC-1 PS

[Sorry for the fuzzy pic ... camera is dying!]

Pics of all CIAudio products are shown on their web site.

For all looking in, my personal experience has been that the VHP-1 really needs ENORMOUS amounts of burn in the fully mature. Sorry that I've been travelling a lot and exremely busy or I'd look for my notes and state how many hours, but I'd guess it was well over 300 hours. I recall that after 150 hours or so it was just beginning to open up in many ways.

From beginning to end of that process it does retain varying degrees of a silken signature character that has been noted in reviews. However, fully matured it has more complex texture, slightly better extension, smoother top, and has more punch - impact - speed - dimension.