These flight attenuators, do they change the signature?
Apr 16, 2007 at 10:54 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

JimBob1971

100+ Head-Fier
Both my Super.fi and Triple.fis came with a sound attenuators for use on planes. I've seen folk on here talk about attachments to change impedence.... Is that what these things do? If so, is there any benefit sonically to using these type of adapters? I know they can sometimes reduce hiss, but are they known to alter the frequency response?

Sorry if this is an obvious question, but I'm pretty new to all this.

Cheers!

Apr 17, 2007 at 12:39 AM Post #2 of 8
Those flight jacks work just like a 1/8-->1/4 jack. It just converts your existing 1/8 headphone jack into one compatible with the airline audio jack on most planes. I don't believe they significantly alter the sound signature of the headphones being used, but if they did, it probably wouldn't matter too much because the audio coming out of those seat units is never the best.

Apr 17, 2007 at 12:46 AM Post #3 of 8
Quote:

Originally Posted by appophylite /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Those flight jacks work just like a 1/8-->1/4 jack. It just converts your existing 1/8 headphone jack into one compatible with the airline audio jack on most planes. I don't believe they significantly alter the sound signature of the headphones being used, but if they did, it probably wouldn't matter too much because the audio coming out of those seat units is never the best.

Thanks for the reply Appophylite. The attenuator doesn't alter the size of the jack, it simply makes the phones quieter so that the pilot talking during the movie doesn't blow your eardrums! However, I was just wondering if it is an impedance thing, and whether it would change anything other than volume whenn used with a quality source.

Apr 17, 2007 at 12:59 AM Post #4 of 8
resistive attenuation alters the sound signature a few different ways.