The Universal IEM with the best soundstage?
Jan 2, 2014 at 9:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

Musicboy

100+ Head-Fier
I have been using my Head-Direct RE-0 for three years now and I like their detailed and clear sound, but I have grown tired of their flat soundstage. Moreover, the RE-0's housing keeps breaking. To find a replacement, I auditioned the sennheiser IE8 and I instantly fell in love with the headphone-like soundstage they produce. I ended up not buying them, because they had too much overshadowing mid-bass for my taste. According to the reviews I have read, the JVC "Victor" FX700 has a deep soundstage and an out-of-the-head feel. The realistic timbre is also a nice quality, but what I don't like is that they lack isolation.  

To sum it up, what I am looking for is an universal IEM with:

- Deep, layered and wide soundstage  

- An out-of-the-head/ 3D feeling to it

- (if possible) Transparent and detailed sound

- (if possible) A realistic timbre.  

I am not into monstrous bass, but otherwise I don't care too much about the signature.  

Thanks

Jan 15, 2014 at 3:30 PM Post #2 of 2
Have you looked into the IE800? I do not personally own them but in reviews it has been stated a number of times that the soundstage rivals a lot of high end headphones.

Like you, I am also looking for the same thing and so far the IE800 have ticked the box, however I do not deem them to be worthy of buying due to the non-detachable cable, where as the IE8 and additionally IE80 have this feature which really is a shame, the reasoning behind this being, and I quote directly from Sennheiser's CEO, 'the removal of the detachable cable allows for a much smaller earphone size.'