The Next Step ("upgrade") After Fidelio X2's, HD600, and ATH-AD2000 (Goodbye Wallet)?
Feb 7, 2016 at 9:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Feilong4

Headphoneus Supremus
So I'm a broke student, but since that has nothing to do with my sonic preferences.. I've been craving something a step or (a few miles) above these headphones.

I love them no doubt, but just minor complaints with them include:

HD600: Want something more "exciting", more treble extension and presence without sounding harsh or unnatural, love the mids but maybe a little more in the mids
X2's: Treble is the deal breaker for me, treble is too peaky and unnatural for my tastes. Excellent bass though.
AD2000: Love the mids but maybe a very slight step back in the mids, needs a touch more bass and tightness in the bass, needs more treble presence as well, doesn't sound very natural/clear enough (especially after a listening session with the HD600)

-I don't care all that much about soundstage but I appreciate a wide soundstage (like in the X2's) though I am looking for something "enveloping" where you close your eyes and then the next you know you're holding onto the bed when the beat drops (I don't listen to dubstep but it still applies).

-I like a slight V-shape but also a pretty forward midrange for the electric guitars and vocals.

-I HATE peaky/unnatural treble (like in the X2's Aurisonics Forte), a smooth treble but still detailed and airy

-I like a somewhat elevated bass response but without a lot of bloat and congestion (like in the Beats Studio *shivers*) Momentum M2 bass is just a touch much for me otherwise perfect; I don't mind the bass to be a bit lighter

-I like somewhat forward mids (a touch more so than the HD600 and a slight step back from the AD2000)

-These will be at home listening so open-back is preferred but I can do closed back as well (people get mad when I don't hear them and I don't know why haha)