TEMPOTEC Serenade PCI-E Sound Card
Jan 12, 2019 at 9:31 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

TJ Max

500+ Head-Fier
Hi, I was wondering if anyone had any experience withe this sound card. Is it comparable to the Asus Xonar Essence STX II?
http://www.tempotec.com.cn/en/2-Product/Serenade/SerenadePCIE/index.htm
SerenadePCIE-Content.jpg

I see it on Amazon for $99. The specs look decent but I'm not an expert on sound cards.

Jan 12, 2019 at 12:06 PM Post #2 of 7
The last time the software drivers were updated was 3 and a half years ago (Sept, 2015).
And can't find anywhere to download a manual.
I would assume the control panel is very basic (guessing).
Does not list any headphone surround sound support.
Why are you thinking of buying it?

Jan 12, 2019 at 2:22 PM Post #3 of 7
The drivers for the Asus are also several years old. But this Tempotec is basically a no nonsense audio card with no inputs. It has RCA outputs and a coax and optical optical outputs. That is why it appeals to me. I want something for music. I'm not a gamer or into movies so I don't need surround sound. though this can do 5.1 dolby digital through the digital outputs.
I found out through another website that it uses a Burr Brown DAC and Opamps are replacable and a 6.3mm headphone jack that can drive 600ohm headphones.
It seems like an incredible deal for $99. I'm surprised there's no discussions or comparisons about it.

71gXVTyGUyL._SL1324_.jpg

Jan 12, 2019 at 3:34 PM Post #4 of 7
The drivers for the Asus are also several years old. But this Tempotec is basically a no nonsense audio card with no inputs. It has RCA outputs and a coax and optical optical outputs. That is why it appeals to me. I want something for music. I'm not a gamer or into movies so I don't need surround sound. though this can do 5.1 Dolby digital through the digital outputs.
I found out through another website that it uses a Burr Brown DAC and Op-amps are replaceable and a 6.3mm headphone jack that can drive 600ohm headphones.