Technical: Using the line-out directly to drive headphones is bad?
Oct 15, 2002 at 11:41 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

Ptrick

100+ Head-Fier
Hi there,

I would like some technical expertise to help me clear up something:

I have used the line-out of my PCDP's directly to drive my headphones (HD580s and SR60s), but was recently advised by another head-fier that this could be possibly damaging to both my headphones and the player itself, since line-outs are not designed to drive headphones and speakers as they look for much higher impendance loads (1000 ohms?). Therefore by running headphones directly out of the line-out, it could be overdriving them or something?

Sorry if I'm not technical in explaining this, since I don't know much about electronics, but could someone verify or add something to this?

Much appreciated!

Cheers,
P

Oct 16, 2002 at 12:13 AM Post #2 of 5
I don't think you could damage your headphones or the pcdp by doing so, but I do know that you are not getting the best sound you possibly could out of the pcdp because of the imperdence mismatch between the headphones and the line out.

Both the line out and your headphones are designed to work best when paired with certain impedence inputs/outputs. This means that the designers expected that the line out would be plugged into a line-in with a high input impedence (10-100k) and therefor designed it so that it would be at its optimum outputting into such a load. The HD580 are designed to be driven by a source with 0ohm output inpedence. Does any of this mean that you are damaging something? Highly doubtful, but it probably does mean you are not getting the sound the designers had in mind.

To give you an example, my ns-500v player worked just fine when my CHA47 had an input impedence of 4kohms. But after I raised it to 50kohms I noticed a big change in the sound, it was much clearer.