Stupid iPod Question
Mar 2, 2009 at 10:50 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

Jigglybootch

Headphoneus Supremus
If I were to remove some songs from my iTunes library (and subsequently delete them from my hard drive altogether) and then re-rip the song, would iTunes replace the old songs with the new songs when I sync up my iPod?

I ask because I just bought the non-remastered version of "The Number of the Beast" and I plan on removing the songs ripped from the remastered version from my iTunes library and deleting them. I'm then going to rip the non-remastered version. So when I sync up my iPod, will the remastered versions be replaced with the non-remastered versions?

You'll have to excuse my ignorance. I'm a total iPod noob.

Mar 2, 2009 at 11:18 AM Post #2 of 13
Depending on how you have your settings, it would get rid of the old song because you're syncing iTunes with the iPod and put the new songs in. So it's replacing, but not by overwriting.

Mar 2, 2009 at 12:07 PM Post #3 of 13
If you want to be 100% sure, put your iPod in manual sync mode, and delete the songs from your iPod yourself. After that, delete the songs from your library, then, put the iPod back in auto-sync mode, disconnect it, re-rip and re-connect it
smily_headphones1.gif

Mar 2, 2009 at 12:13 PM Post #5 of 13
Quote:

Originally Posted by Squirsier /img/forum/go_quote.gif
If you want to be 100% sure, put your iPod in manual sync mode, and delete the songs from your iPod yourself. After that, delete the songs from your library, then, put the iPod back in auto-sync mode, disconnect it, re-rip and re-connect it
smily_headphones1.gif

Do I change the sync settings in iTunes?

Mar 2, 2009 at 12:34 PM Post #6 of 13
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jigglybootch /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Do I change the sync settings in iTunes?