Stupid iPod - Micro Headroom Amp/DAC Question...
May 26, 2006 at 6:35 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

Major

New Head-Fier
First off, i'm a noob...there i said it. Not ashame of it. When you're new, lost, and need all the help in the world, ask as many questions as you can even if it's the most idiotic ones. Better to know than not know at all. Well here's mine...lol.

I have just recently purchased the Micro Headroom Amp/DAC. The headphone i'm using are my new AKG 701 and old Grado 325. This is my very FIRST amp. When using my iPod Nano, i hook the iPod thru the headphone jack to the amp's line input. I tried hooking it to the Dac's optical/coaxial digital Input - DAC's line output - Amp's line input - to headphone but i'm not getting any sound. Any reason why this doesn't work when it does with my PC's Digital Output card? And does it make a difference if i'm just using the Amp rather than the Amp+Dac combo? Do i even need a DAC? Sorry if i'm rambling on. Hope anyone can explain this to me.

Also, i just stumbled upon the AudioLineOut cables. Is the sound quality better coming out from the dock end of the iPod than the headphone jack? Really lost now...help.

May 26, 2006 at 6:39 AM Post #2 of 13
you dont' need the dac....
several things could be going on...the grain might not be set right, since it requires different grain for low power units like a grado and higher for something like a K701. The battery might not be in right/charged.... the cable's direction may need to be switched...
Jamey and Tyll from headroom are members and they should be able to help you...just find them and PM them.

May 26, 2006 at 9:17 AM Post #3 of 13
Major,

The MicroDAC input that you are trying to use is expecting either a coaxial or optical input. Your iPod is giving out an analog output. Therefore, you will need to hook your iPod directly to the line input of the MicroAmp, and bypass the MicroDAC completely. I hope this makes sense to you.
smily_headphones1.gif

-V