stores with good exchange policy? (+ advice please)
Feb 23, 2007 at 3:41 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

rkidmike

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone,

I'm came across this amazing forum when I started researching headphones. I've been reading for a few days now, but basically I need to listen to some headphones to see what I like. I'm looking to upgrade from my KSC-35's (which I like) and Koss plugs with modded tips (which are not so great). I want to get IEM's for portable listeing and isolation while I study. My source is a Creative Zen Vision:M.

Maybe I'm catching the head-fi bug, but even though I'm new to higher end audio I was thinking about going beyond the entry level UEM's. So I'm considering the ER-4p, the E4c, the Super.fi 5 pro, and the UM1. I don't have a lot of experience with audio, but I think I would like something that is accurate, pretty much neutral, and not fatiguing (btw - can someone explain what makes sound fatiguing? I've experienced it but don't understand it). However, since I haven't developed my ears to really appreciate good sound, is it worth it for me? I prefer quality rather than just the cheapest available, but will I be able to appreciate it? Or should I go down to entry level models like ER-6, E2c, and super.fi 3? Also, portability and price is big for me, so I'd prefer not to amp or get a small/cheap cmoy.