store music on internal or external hard drive?
Mar 22, 2011 at 5:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

jk6661

100+ Head-Fier
I'm a noob, so forgive the noobish question. It seems like it would be better to store music on my laptop's internal hard drive to avoid noise from the extra USB or Firewire cord, etc. However, the Pure Music folks say an external drive is better--something about competing for hard drive resources. I can't hear a difference, so maybe it's a moot point for me, but I'm curious about other people's opinions/experiences.

Mar 23, 2011 at 2:53 AM Post #4 of 6
I store all my music on a 6 drive (6x500gb) RAID-5 across gigabit lan from a low end file server that cost about 600 to build, such a fantastic investment, this is what I would recommend.

Mar 23, 2011 at 4:45 AM Post #5 of 6
Honestly? For the kind of use we're talking about there's no speed difference between the two. Even a base USB 2.0 connection (base because everything is at least that or better these days) will get you a practical transfer speed of 50 Mbps or so. That's more than enough to transfer even the highest grade raw audio with no latency issues.

The benefit of having everything on an external is your system isn't constantly reading from your primary drive. If you're using it for other things there will be a marginal speed increase to normal operations. Nothing extreme, we're talking a millisecond here and there.

When it was just my laptop and I didn't have as much room as I'd like, I went with an external HDD for all my audio. Now that I have a 1TB in a desktop it's all on one drive (I also sprang for a faster drive anyway). That's all synced with a full system backup and a copy of my library on my laptop (larger, but slower drive in there).