Squash Players --Racquet recommendations?
Jan 26, 2007 at 7:30 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

cvince

100+ Head-Fier
I'm currently eyeing the Head ix.120 as a replacement for my piece of crap 195g racquet.

http://www.amazon.com/Head-120-Intel.../dp/B0002V8RXE

I'm still relatively new to the sport, but I do plan to play a lot, so I might as well get a decent racquet. I figure that head-fi is the least geeky of the geek forums I visit, and since most of us have lives here outside of technology it's probably a better place to ask about squash than in larger forums, or the anemic squash forums in existence.

I'm just wondering what the opinions are of the ix.120. It appears to be a very nice racquet, but I am wondering if it is too fragile for a person who occassionally scratches the wall/floor every now and then.
I'm actually quite a calm squash player, and I don't smash my racquet against the wall when I miss a shot like some people. My squash swing is also not very strong (probably due to my years as a badminton palm/finger flicking player), so I won't likely be snapping any racquets by hitting the ball.

My greatest concern is about the head shape of the ix.120. By looking at the racquet, I infer that due to the length of the head with comparison with normal-sized heads, the point of maximum elasticity (sweet spot) is closer to the handle than most other racquets. This means I have to stretch further to hit the ball with the good part of the racquet, and that might be a pain considering that I am a fairly small person. In reality, is it really like this? Or is the sweet spot on this racquet as far from the handle as most conventionally shaped racquets? If it is, I'm sold.

Thanks for your input!

Jan 27, 2007 at 12:02 AM Post #2 of 10