some headphone terms explaination needed for me
Jun 6, 2010 at 1:08 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

niotio910

100+ Head-Fier
Hi,

I'm a newbie in audiophile. I've been viewing a lot of posts in this room. I've found some headphone terms that I don't understand. Any explaination of following terms is appreciated :)

1. closed v.s open headphones
2. laid back
3. tubes (probably especially for amp)

Thanks!

Jun 6, 2010 at 1:12 PM Post #2 of 5
1. closed headphones don't have "vents" on the side. Like dj style headphones and some Audio-Technicas.
open headphones are vented eg. akg k701/702 grados etc.

Just take a look and you'll see.

2. Not sure what you're referring to.

3. Tubes like you guessed correctly are vacuum tubes. Mainly used in amps/preamps now, its an option instead of getting a solid state amplifier

Jun 6, 2010 at 1:16 PM Post #3 of 5
Thanks jonoliew!

"Laid back" is the one I've seen a lot in describing headphones's characteristics. For instance, one said Senn HDxxx sound is a little "laid back"...

By the way, what the difference between amp and preamp? :)

Jun 6, 2010 at 1:39 PM Post #4 of 5

Quote:
Hi,

I'm a newbie in audiophile. I've been viewing a lot of posts in this room. I've found some headphone terms that I don't understand. Any explaination of following terms is appreciated :)

1. closed v.s open headphones
2. laid back
3. tubes (probably especially for amp)

Thanks!

1) There are a few differences between closed and open headphones. Closed meaning the sound is closed in, and you get better isolation and, generally, better bass response because of this although this isn't always the case. Open phones might have a larger sound stage or a feel of more detail/openness because of their design. There are trade-offs between each so you should decide based on what you need your phone to do.