So....now what?
Dec 24, 2008 at 10:48 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

GUINNE55

Head-Fier
Hi there, I'm a starving student living in the frozen north. Monday I got myself some K702's from headroom for chirstmas from me to me, got them today from fedex.

Since I bought them I've been looking for a DAC/Amp set but trying to inform myself of the choices out there through reading on forums just confused me. One thread will have a ton of new guys praising some 100 dollar amp/dac bought on ebay. Another will have an "ol' timer" badmouthing said choice and generally being really grouchy cause not everyone has 4000 dollar perfect headphone amps like them and the darn newbies don't know what hi-fi is.

So I'm looking for a middleground, but I don't know what there is out there. i.e differences between opamps and whatever else, the sound difference between solid state and tube, why people are recommending different amps for different headphones, ect. Generally looking at what people own has also been confusing, cause lots of you guys have bought and sold 20 different amps, and I don't know if its cause they were bad, or merely "different".

Think you guys could point me in the general direction? Playing wav's from my computer. After some reading, I think a Pico would be my under 500 choice, can't see myself buying above 1500 while I'm sober/in school.

Thanks guys.
beerchug.gif

Dec 24, 2008 at 11:02 PM Post #2 of 22
Don't worry about the old grumps complaining and such, in the end its your setup and whatever sounds good to you is what matters in the end. Everyone's ear is different and thus everyone has a different opinion.