So I think it is IEM Time...
Oct 1, 2006 at 6:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

benton

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys, I am a highschool student and am forced to take the bus this year(
plainface.gif
)which means lots of music listening and little kid noise blocking. My current rig is a 60GB video and K81DJs but this rig is really just too big. I barely have enough room for my books in my backpack let alone my 60GB and my K81's. So, here is what I am planning on doing.

Ditching the 60GB, getting a 8GB 2G Nano and a pair of IEMs. Now that is where my dilemma is, I know nothing of IEMs and don't know what to do, so I am relying on you guys. Here are the only requirements I have for my IEM's.

-MUST be $200 or under
-Must have some sort of bass because I listen to a good amount of reggae and rap(but also enoy mellow music like Jack Johnson/DMB along with music like Chili Peppers, 311)
-Must have sound quality on par with my K81's
-I prefer a nice aggressive sound that makes me really enoy the music, not a laid back put me to sleep sound
-They must look nice, these will be worn around in public all the time as my portable headphones, don't want them to stick way out of my head or give everyone the What ARE THOSE look

Now I know that the shure e4c, er6i, er4p, and im716 among others are very accepted around here among other things. But what do you guys think is going to suit me?

benton
etysmile.gif

Oct 1, 2006 at 7:46 PM Post #2 of 7
You didn't mention anithing from Ultimate Ears or Westone. I am currently waiting for an opertunity to sample these and haven't heard them myslef but they are on my list:

UE Super.fi 5 pro
UE Super.fi 5 EB (bass heavy version of the above)
Westone UM1 (reputation for better comfort)