SK LiveWires T1 cable review with pictures
Sep 24, 2008 at 5:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

FrederikS|TPU

1000+ Head-Fier
Introduction: SK LiveWires T1 Cable 26G SPC Teflon
First of all I would like to thank Steve for making this introductory run to let the interested parties try out his cables. Since the cable is just a prototype it is not as solid nor as good looking as the final version according to Steve.

So I got this LiveWires cable made by Steve from a fellow head-fier a little over a week ago and been enjoying testing it out. The cable is made from 26G SPC and will cost about $130 once released. I tested the cable in my normal portable rig which consists of a Cowon D2, a custom solid silver interconnect made by n_maher, and last but not least a RSA Tomahawk on low gain.

I will try and make this review short, informal, and hopefully informative. I might change one or two things regarding the pictures as I am a flickr noob.

Looks & Construction

The cable looks really good. It has some black tech flex wrapped around the lower part and the y-joint is neatly heatshrinked together. Because of the tech flex the lower part of the cable is tangle free, however, the exposed cable after the y-split is more prone to get tangled up due to the way the four wires are rolled up. Nothing horrible, but you have to twist them a bit when you want to loop the cable for over the ear use.

The connector for each of the earpieces is exactly the same as used on the original LiveWires cable. Now the mini jack is of a really good quality. Gold plated tip of course with a rock solid housing just the way it ought to be.

It is clear that the cable is of a completely different quality than the normal ones. The build quality even on this prototype is way ahead of anything ever to leave the production plants of any of the big companies. I sincerely hope that Steve will consider spray painting the connectors black (un-bling mod).

Performance