Single driver headphone or multi driver IEM?
Jan 22, 2014 at 6:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

gdourado

100+ Head-Fier
Hello,
I am relatively new to head-if and high quality audio in general.
I have been reading some sites, blogs and of course, this forum! :)

I see that headphones, over ear models are highly rated for their sound quality.
From what I see, headphones only have one driver providing sound, it is usually a large 40mm or 50mm driver, but just one.

IEM can have a single p driver or multiple drivers on the same iem.
Drivers can be of the dynamic type or BA.
I see IEMs with 4 drivers of different sizes and one driver for lows, one for mids and one for highs.

From what I know from home Hi-if, multiple way speakers are usually better.
If you have one or two woofers for low frequencies, then a woofer for mids and a tweeter for highs, you generally get better sound quality, fidelity and detail,

I am just wondering if this is not the case with head gear,
Won't a multiple driver IEM deliver better sound that a single driver headphone?

Also, what do you prefer? And why?

Cheers!

Jan 22, 2014 at 8:35 PM Post #2 of 9
You are comparing apples to oranges to strawberries.

IEMs have NO enclosure to work with - they need to produce their sound entirely inside your ear canal. Over-ear headphones do have an enclosure, but are still relatively small and very close to your ear compared to loudspeakers. Loudspeakers need to deal with the room they are placed in and the fact that the listener's ear is many feet away from the drivers.