Simpl A1 amp with iPod case
Jan 21, 2005 at 7:41 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

dave_pass

New Head-Fier
Thought I'd post a few pictures of my iPod setup. I decided to give the Simpl A1 amp a spin and I'm quite happy with it. The only other portable amp I've owned was a SuperDual (briefly) so I'm no expert.

I'm using the 4G 40GB iPod and did my listening tests using songs encoded with the Apple Lossless codec. Headphones used were Sony MDR-7506 and Bose QC2 (I know, I know, but for me they're still the most comfortable noise cancelling headphones with decent sound for long flights).

With this amp you can leave the iPod vol at about 50% which saves battery life, and to me the base is definitely improved as well as the overall crispness of the sound. In fact, for the first time I noticed the iPod 4G 'audio defect' that is much discussed over at ipodlounge.com.

I cut 2 slits in a Speck 4G case using a razor blade and the Simpl amp fits nicely into place. I admit I ruined one case in the process, but progress doesn't come without a price.

Dave

cimg00584hd.jpg

cimg00646wy.jpg

cimg00662zw.jpg

Jan 27, 2005 at 9:05 PM Post #3 of 7
i wonder how many 4G owners are living in unbuzzy bliss until something with higher resolution reveals the buzz. my friend was driven gaga over the buzz of his 4G thru Etys - until he got the sik din line out (no buzz) and now he's happy using that to get the tunes out - well now that he has a supermono to handle that line out signal.

Jan 28, 2005 at 12:00 AM Post #4 of 7
is that what the buzz is!? this was driving me INSANE
eek.gif
eek.gif
eek.gif
when listening to it with my shure e2c i kept hearing the "buzz" no matter what song was playing! i guess a sik din is on my want list now
biggrin.gif

p.s. - sry for taking your thread OT but i really appricate this information!

Jan 28, 2005 at 12:29 AM Post #5 of 7
I haven't heard about this 4g audio defect.
Guess I should visit the ipid lounge before I buy one
for myself.