Should my HFI-780s sound worse than my vibes?
Sep 7, 2008 at 8:03 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

b00tang

Head-Fier
oh no what have I done??? I've been using IEMS for years and decided to take my first step into the world of cans so I would have something comfortable at work. I settled on Ultrasone HFI-780s. I've had them a little over 3 weeks, they have burned in for well over 100 hours using pink noise and I have been listening to them with music for a couple hours each day... But somehow they still don't sound nearly as good as my little v-moda vibes. Does that even make sense?

I think the biggest place I can hear the limitation is in cymbal crashes. On the Ultrasones the cymbal crashes sound like I'm listening to a 96kbps mp3 (thats the best way I can describe it, there is probably a word for it but hey, I don't even have 50 posts yet, I'm still a noob in this world)... if I take the same mp3 and listen to it on my vibes the cymbal crashes sound like cymbal crashes, on the vibes I just don't even think about it because they sound clear, on the 780s its hard NOT to think about what I'm hearing.

Is there something I can do or that I am doing wrong? I'm not amping anything right now, its just sound coming directly out from my imac. Does this mean I should have gone with Dennon's as many people suggested or would I probably be hearing the same thing? I might even consider a recabling but I'm not confident right now that the end result would be something I would be happy with.

Thanks for any opinions

Sep 7, 2008 at 8:52 PM Post #2 of 18
I would definitely invest in a decent amp to drive that 780 adequately. I never heard of v-moda vibes but it's hard to imagine 780 to be anywhere near vibes in terms of SQ. But, if that really is the case I would guess that you're not providing enough current to drive those cans.

Sep 7, 2008 at 9:31 PM Post #3 of 18